I Daiya-d today!

April 11, 2010 at 5:00 pm 11 comments

Stopping at Whole Foods nearly every day this past week has finally paid off (well, actually I’ve paid a lot of money to get to this day but that’s beside the point). One of my local Whole Foods finally has stocked the Vegan Cheez of our dreams!  I’m embaressed to say that I may have yelled “Yes! They’re finally here!” to the poor gentleman next to me.  I know you can imagine my excitement.

Note: They were not located with the vegan cheeses, but rather in the cheese department alongside other shredded cheeses. I cannot wait to get down to cooking!

Last week I also was sent a promotional package from Turtle Mountain about their lines of non-dairy items, as well as new products that we will soon find on the shelves. They also so generously included 5 free product coupons, which I was happy to trade in today for new products to try. I decided to trade in my traditional Silk French Vanilla creamer for the So Delicious French Vanilla creamer. I also decided that this week I would swap out Unsweetened Almond Milk in my morning smoothie for Unsweetened So Delicious Coconut Milk. And finally, I splurged on some Purely Decadent ice cream products (Mocha Almond Fudge, Cookie Dough, Turtle Trails, and Raspberry).  Reviews to come later this week!

Finally, I indulged in a protein powder I’ve been meaning to try.  Every time I go to WF I pick up a new vegan protein to use in my smoothies.  I’ve been wanting to try Vega products, and so I grabbed a chocolate and natural flavor (which btw – pretty pricey!). So we’ll see how Vega+Coconut smoothies taste tomorrow!

So the unfortunate thing is that I didn’t plan my meals for having Daiya in my life this week (I stopped at WF after visiting my local produce market and stocking up on veggies for dinner). However I couldn’t keep away and made a very early dinner, which is actually fairly typical on a Sunday for Italians.  I cooked up some whole wheat rotini.  While that was boiling, I mixed about a cup of freshly chopped basil, 2 chopped tomatoes, 3 pressed garlic cloves, and a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic together and let them soak.

When the rotini was ready I mixed it into the tomato/basil mix and mixed in about 1/2 cup of Daiya mozzarella flavor. While the mozzarella started to get soft, it didn’t reach that oozey consistency that I know it is capable of.  I threw my bowl into the microwave and zapped it for 30-seconds until gooey perfection! Don’t mind the messy photos, I was hungry and didn’t care for presentation.

This was creamy and delicious!  The garlic and basil complemented the Daiya perfectly and I cannot wait until I can really apply this genius to a more complex (or simple) dish.

Yoga today was another bright and early start.  I think I’ve attended five 9:30/10:00 a.m. classes in a row this week.  Today I really wanted to shut off the alarm and attend the later class, but because my friend was going with me I stuck to the plan.  Of course when class was over I was so glad that I had went early and checked it off my list.

The message today was to “Sit, Stay, Heal” – meaning don’t quit, stay with the practice on the mat and when it gets tough, stay in the pose unless you need to break out and heal/restore yourself. I tried hard to apply that message during class and pushed myself to try new modifications.  I know it sounds silly but when we can “hop or step” to the top of the mat, I generally allow myself that break and choose to step.   Today I made it my business to hop every.single.time.  I’m so glad I did because each time I got closer to the very end of the mat!  Also, during side plank I lifted my upper leg during the pose, which I had never even tried before.  Like I said, small potatoes for some, however a steady attendance has allowed me to feel some comfort in pushing myself each class.

Now I’m off to plan my meals for the week and enjoy a lazy Sunday evening.  The plan is to pawn off some of these cupcakes at work tomorrow.  Who eats what you bake??

Also check out Katie’s iHerb giveaway, they have so many products to choose from, don’t be fooled by the name!

Entry filed under: dinner, product review, vegan, yoga. Tags: , , , , , .

Carrots meet cream cheese, in a vegan cupcake. The Kind Life.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 11, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    YOU GOT THE DAIYA????!!!!! NO!!!!!!! I feel so left out!!!! I’m going to Whole Foods tomorrow to raise holy heck!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  April 12, 2010 at 6:28 am

      I have no doubt that you will be the first person to find it at your WF – if not I’m sure the seitan panini will make it better!

      Reply
  • 3. Andria @ Veg is Sexy  |  April 11, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    YAYYY Daiya! I still haven’t found it in my whole foods yet but I’m excited to go look!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  April 12, 2010 at 6:28 am

      I literally became a tad obsessed and checked nearly every day. Crossing my fingers for ya!

      Reply
  • 5. Danielle  |  April 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I’ve never heard of Daiya! I’ve tried a billion dairy-free cheeses and most of them are pretty nasty so I must try this! :D

    I wish I had people to distribute my baked goods to! I usually just freeze them and eat it myself :)

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  April 12, 2010 at 6:29 am

      It’s pretty delicious! It definitely is not 100% true but it melts and tastes yum – so far I think it’s best place is atop a pizza. I highly suggest checking it out!

      Reply
  • 7. rachael  |  April 12, 2010 at 5:59 am

    I’ve never seen Daiya, I’ll have to keep my eye out. I love vega and the mocha almond fudge purely decadent rocks my world!

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  April 12, 2010 at 6:29 am

      The mocha almond fudge really is divine – my boyfriend loves it too! Keep your out for Daiya for sure, it’s worth trying for what it is!

      Reply
  • 9. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 12, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Yay for Daiya!! That’s so exciting- I didn’t see it at Whole Foods, but I didn’t check the nonvegan cheese area. I’ll have to look next time!!

    Reply
  • 10. The Ordinary Vegetarian  |  April 12, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Love the title of this post :) I haven’t gotten to try daiya yet, but I am hearing nothing but good things. I hope they start carrying it by me soon!

    I’m loving all the pink around here, by the way.

    Reply
    • 11. Amanda  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      It’s def. worth trying and having around as a cheese alternative for special recipes, it melts perfectly and gooey! And thanks! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Edub


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

