Starting Fresh

January 2, 2009 at 4:03 pm 4 comments

I’ve been a blog lurker for about a year now, and I figure a new year is the best time to jump in.  I’ll try my best to include my daily photos of eats to increase my own accountability.  I’m hoping this will keep me inspired to try new foods daily and keep upping my baking/cooking skills.  Above is my delicious pasta fagioli – recipe from allrecipes as  follows (with minor edits)!

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, quartered then halved
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 14oz can tomato sauce
  • 5 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (15 ounce) can cannellini beans
  • 1 (15 ounce) can navy beans
  • 1 pound soup shells

You can find the cooking directions on the all recipe site here.  It was absolutely fantastic!  I really encourage you to wait out the simmering for the full hour.  The beans became so tender that they disintegrated in my mouth.  I couldn’t get enough of this soup and was craving it for all meals. Be forewarned: this makes alot of pasta.  I had to freeze 3 servings after eating it for 6 meals in a row. Also, the shells absorb a lot of the sauce – if you want more of a soupy consistency I’d only add half the pasta.  This is a definite keeper!

pasta fagioli

Entry filed under: vegan. Tags: , , , , .

Day 1 of the the daily photo blogging

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. miss v  |  January 6, 2009 at 9:28 am

    this looks seriously good!

    Reply
  • 2. DJ Karma (VegSpinz)  |  January 11, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Looks delicious, and cute with the little pasta shells!

    Reply
  • 3. Rico  |  January 19, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I absolutely love this one beans and pasta…just like in my country (Portugal) in ours we tend to put some meat too (like 5 varieties of meat) however this is really good as is vegetarian and therefore my wife can eat this one…thx for sharing saw you on Foodbuzz

    Reply
  • 4. Hangry Pants  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I do that too – make something, love it and forget about it for over a year. It looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


