End of the Day

January 3, 2009 at 11:10 pm Leave a comment

Well tonight was adventurous in the kitchen.  I’ve become a bit stir crazy and I decided to tackle a few new cookbooks.  The first goal: dinner.  From Veganomican, Snobby Joes!  Of course I forgot to buy one key ingredient (tomato paste) which I subbed with ketchup.  I also subbed maple syrup with a sugar-free version. I thought it was pretty fantastic, and a great consistency.  It was not too spicy, and all the vegetables and beans were very tender. I really enjoyed my meal, which I ate open sandwich on a sesame bun (I scoop on each) with a small mixed greens salad.

img_0078

dinner!

Unfortunately, while the boyfriend had seconds of the meal, commenting that it wasn’t bad for non-meat sloppy joes, the chile aftertaste haunted him for about 2 hours.  This meal literally left a “bad taste” in his mouth, one which I’m sure he won’t return to.  Three servings of leftovers for me!  Could this be frozen for later??

I followed up this success with an attempt at making Toffee Chocolate Florentines.  Now I had a recipe for Peanut Chocolate Florentines in my Mrs. Field’s cookbook, however for some reason I decided to not sub peanuts for toffee, and instead make Oatmeal Lace cookies and stuff them with chocolate and toffee.  This was not the desired result, although Dan enjoyed these.  I pretty much felt that was overkill and a guaranteed trip to the dentist. However I did manage to eat a lot of the dough (a couple tablespoons) as well as a cookie (pictured below).

oatmeal lace cookie sandwhich
After the cookie, I decided it was best to quench my snacking tendencies with some fruit.  Not pictured (due to baking mess circumstances) are about 10 grapes and 5 pineapple chunks. Still feeling inspired, I went with my original gut and attempted to modify the Florentines recipe, subbing peanuts for toffee.  Recipe as follows, adapted from the Mrs. Field’s cookie book:

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flower
  • 1/2 cup toffee bits (Heath)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 ounces semisweet chocolate

Yields about 14 sandwich cookies

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour cookie sheet (necessity)

2) In small pan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add brown sugar and corn syrup until sugar dissolves, stirring constantly.

3) Remove from heat, adding flour, toffee, and vanilla.

4) Drop 1/2 teaspoon mounds (circular) 2-1/2 inches apart (THEY WILL DRIP AND SPREAD).

5) Bake for 9-10 minutes (golden brown), rotating halfway through.   Leave on cookie sheet about 3 minutes until cookies harden. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

6) Melt chocolate (I did it in intervals in the microwave) and spread thin later on smooth bottom of one cookie.  Press smooth bottom of another cookie to the chocolate of the first cookie.  Place sandwiches in refrigerator to set chocolate.

toffee florentines

I thought these cookies were very rich, but very tasty.  I love cookies and toffee, and this cookie definitely gets that need met. These were very buttery, however they only make a small batch so that was nice.

The fruits of my labors!
The fruits of my labors!

I’m hoping tomorrow will be a back on track gym day – it’s been 5 days without a workout!  Now some more R&R.

Entry filed under: vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , .

Day 1 of the the daily photo blogging Sunday Re-Start

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


