First day success!

January 5, 2009 at 8:02 pm 1 comment

Okay so today I photographed all my foody intake, I almost forgot a couple of times, but although blurry at times – mission accomplished!
I started the day off with my daily coffee and silk creamer, and a parfait of sorts, comprised of 3/4 cup fat free vanilla yogurt, 3/4 cup Kashi Heart to Heart cereal, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, and 1/2 cup whole strawberries. It was mostly good, but something went wrong?!  It took me a long time to pin point – and I think I finally did. But a strange bitter taste followed most bites.  I originally thought it was the frozen items, and honestly I’m still suspicious of the strawberries – however I’m fairly conclusive the taste followed the coffee.  I don’t know why or how but I think my coffee was the root of a breakfast gone wrong!  So to be fair to the parfait, I will give it a go again tomorrow…. I just don’t know what to do about my coffee dilema.

img_0104

One of my little students brought me a belated holiday gift – a cup filled of my favorite irresistable candies ever – hershey kisses!! So I had to have two, and that was really quite an accomplishment.

kisses

Finally lunch rolled around – my 2nd favorite part of the day.  I reheated leftover Snobby Joes and had a small salad.  I think this may be their last visit to my tummy for awhile! Nonetheless, it was still yummy.

joes

salad

I decided to just eat up my gala apple then, to complete the meal and to thwart afternoon hunger. These apples just taste like candy to me!

gala

Before hitting the gym I grabbed a Kashi Cherry Granola bar to fuel the workout.  Today wasn’t as rough as yesterday – I got 45 minutes in. I started doing intervals on the eliptical then switched to the treadmill. I really concentrated on watching my heart rate monitor and staying in my “optimal zone”.  Recently I’ve been hitting a HR in the 190’s and it’s been freaking me out, so today I averaged about 165, and felt less drained. Wooh!

kashi

I came home to a very hungry boyfriend so we reheated up some more penne alla vodka and I made a small side salad to go along with mine. I tried to measure out my pasta and I think it was a little over 1.5 cups – estimate!  Regardless it was a delicious savory dinner as always, and I’m considering revisitng it for lunch tomorrow on a smaller scale. Pictures were rushed, sorry for lack of plating expertise!

penne

salad

After dinner I got to blog reading and before I knew it the boyfriend was passed out on the floor and I needed something else in my tummy.  So I reached for a bit of chocolate Santas Dan’s been harboring – soo delicious and worthwhile.

santas

So.. now I’m still hungry. I’ll probably have some fruit and come back later 🙂 Four more days till weekend!

*Edit:  I had a glass of chocolate soy milk and a cookie and a half of my oatmeal lace toffee sandwiches, and am feeling much better like I completely canceled out my workout.  My love of baking is in constant conflict with my healthiness! I made a homemade balsamic vinegarette tonight that makes me excited for tomorrow’s lunch, I’ll share the recipe tomorrow. Tomorrow is a dentist night, so I anticipate it being a soup evening post-dentist due to numb mouth. Wednesday night is mexican caserole night, and I am quite excited.

Entry filed under: vegan, vegetarian.

Sunday Re-Start Mexican Casserole Night

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lily  |  January 6, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Hi, I just wanted to say thanks for de-lurking 🙂 It always brightens my day when people comment!
    Let me know how the recipes go when you get to them.
    Thanks for the heads up about New Orleans. I’ve never been but I’m not particularly optimistic about the vegetarian scene. Given that it is the deep south I am fully prepared that they will want to deep fry everything… I guess making a trip to the supermarket to stock up on fresh fruit will be required!

    And thanks for reviewing snobby joes, I keep meaning to make them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


