Mexican Casserole Night

January 6, 2009 at 9:33 pm Leave a comment

I almost slept through the alarm clock this morning – adjusting from 3am bedtimes to 7:30 wake ups have not been easy!  Last night I tried my hands at a balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  I think it’s pretty good, however many recipes do suggest using honey and I did not.  Balsamic vinaigrette dressing as follows:

balsamic
Upclose!

* 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
* 1/2 cup olive oil
* 1 teaspoon garlic powder
* 2 teaspoons dried basil
* 2 tablespoon dijon or yellow mustard
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 2 teaspoons ground pepper

Then shake it up in a sealed container until thoroughly mixed! It makes obviously about a cup of dressing. It made today’s salads far tastier than my Wishbone spray, and I get my daily dose of olive oil. *Side note: my camera string dipped into the balsamic during photo-time, even my camera couldn’t resist!

This morning, I started off my day with my usual french vanilla coffee & silk french vanilla creamer combo, I really do love this creamer!  I also re-attempted my parfait sans-strawberries (process of elimination of bitter tasting culprit test).  So today’s breakfast included 3/4 cups fat free vanilla yogurt, 3/4 cup Kashi heart to heart, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, and 1/2 medium banana.  It was very delicious and extremely satisfying – I could barely finish!

I had already started to eat before snapping this!

The morning went by very quickly – I had so many children to see and evaluate, that by lunch I had worked up quite a hunger. I had my heart set on a La Tortilla Factory Low Carb wrap, but even after 2 visits to the grocery store I wasn’t able to find it anywhere!  So I settled on a La Tortilla Factory Whole Grain Rye Tortilla – however I didn’t read it was rye, and if I had I wouldn’t have bought it.  With only 90 calories and 8 grams of protein, I was able to get over the rye.  I enjoyed the tortilla, it was soft and easily folded, plus the rye was very subtle against the contents of the wrap.

That being said, I stuffed my wrap with a new product I happened to see at my not-so-local grocery store.  As usual, when buying pre-seasoned Tofu I am slightly uneasy, however this product really blew me away.  It’s called Tofetti’s, and it’s Lemon Garlic seasoned Tofu.  I should have snapped a shot of the packaging because I cannot find this product online anywhere – next time (which there absolutely will be).  It had the most amazing firm texture with a complete covering in lemon and garlic that satisfied any repressed chicken francaise desires from years ago.  LOVED IT!

Lunch consisted of the La Tortilla Factory wrap, 2 tablespoons of sun-dried tomato hummus, lettuce, and 3oz of the Tofetti Tofu. Best wrap in a long time, can’t wait for lunch tomorrow!

I enjoyed that with lettuce and mixed salad greens and a about a tablespoon of my balsamic vinaigrette.  Followed up with 1/2 of my gala apple.

salad1

apple

I also snuck in 2 Hershey kisses during the day, whoops! By the end of the day I was ready for my Kashi Bar – but decided it was way too cold and potentially icy for the dentist, so I canceled and napped on the couch.

kashi

After I napped through Oprah I realized I was still pretty hungry with an hour to go until dinner.  I snacked on a string cheese, which really held me over well throughout dinner.  I should consider this more often.

img_0132

Okay so now onto dinner… my attempt at a Mexican casserole, aka: throw things together with tortillas and salsa and bake it.

Nachoesque Mexican Casserole

  • 4 whole wheat 8-inch tortillas
  • 2 cups Morningstar burger crumbles
  • 2 cups of mild thick/chunky salsa
  • 1 can fat-free vegetarian re-fried beans
  • 1 bag reduced fat 4-cheese Mexican shredded cheese
  • 1 small can chopped/sliced jalapenos

1)Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Quickly heat the tortillas in a sprayed pan, each side for about 10 seconds, then keep them warm under a towel.

2) In the same pan, resprayed, heat the morningstar crumbles until thawed.  Add salsa and stir until blended.  Add re-fried beans until heated through.

3) In a 9×13 tray, place 2 tortillas side by side on the bottom, covering with half the bean/meat/salsa mixture.  Top with half bag of Mexican cheese, and do one more layer of the same. Top with sliced jalapenos.

4) Bake for 30 minutes until the cheese is looking bubbly!

Pre-baked "casserole"

baked!

Actual portion!

Consensus: very hearty, and delicious!  I cut the casserole into 6 portions, each about 350 calories. We had a side spinach salad topped with the balsamic vinaigrette.  The boyfriend even went in for seconds of the casserole, quite a compliment. I could barely finish my triangle – it was that filling. I think I would try black beans instead of re-fried beans next time for a less dense palate – and of course some Mexi-corn would have helped. All in all : success!

As I’ve sat here writing I was fed a small piece of milk chocolate, that hit the spot – and I know I need more water, but I am craving a light snack, maybe a small smoothie. Yes!! Now I’m excited. I made: 1/4 cup soy milk, 1/4 cup vanilla fat free yogurt, 1/4 cup frozen strawberries, and a small handful of chocolate chips! Mmm.
ALSO I just received the best phone call: delayed opening tomorrow morning at work due to weather and bad roads.  I know, it’s a selfish good news but good nonetheless, nothing like staying in bed snuggling a little longer than usual.

Hope everyone had a great day!

Entry filed under: recipes, vegan, vegetarian.

First day success! Snowy Saturday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


