Successful Snow Day

January 11, 2009 at 12:08 am Leave a comment

I really can’t think of anything more I could have done today that I didn’t do. I grocery shopped, I baked, I relaxed, I worked out.  Fantastic Snowy Saturday.

For a snack I cracked open my new Almond Butter.  I paired 1/2 tablespoon with half a small Gala apple.  The butter was tasty but I think would taste 10x better with a sprinkle of cinnamon – for next time.

yummy

Soon after snack time I whipped out the Wii and did some Yoga, Strength, and Balance exercises.  Can anyone do the Balance exercise with the river??? I keep failing miserably and am dying to see what the end holds!

Dinner was a mishmosh. I had leftover broccoli cheddar soup with about 10 sauteed cherry tomatoes in a teaspoon of olive oil with 1 garlic clove.  Pretty scrumptious! The photo is actually pre-heated up, so semi-chunky.

img_0172

After dinner we went for a walk in the snow and then I decided it was time to get baking – those Oreos were singing my name. I whipped out the Kitchen Aide (yay) and got to making the cookies and cream cupcakes!

First: the batter was irresistable. I must have had 3-cupcakes worth of batter before they even reached the cupcake tin. I followed the cake-recipe in Cupcakes Galore which D bought for me for Christmas. It called for crushing 1 1/2 cups of Oreo cookies – I was liberal with the crushing (chunky) and the amount (more). This probably contributed to them being done a little early.

coming out

uniced

Then came the frosting. The recipe called for a cream cheese ganache frosting, but I didn’t see that meshing well with the cake taste.  I whipped together some traditional butter cream icing with a 1/2 cup of finely crushed Oreos (about 5). I thought it was a bit sweet, but D said it was the frosting that really made the cupcake.

yummy

solo cuppy cake

Tada!  I felt very . . . complete. The first cupcake of the new year was one I have been meaning to make for quite some time. I had a few bites… which led me to realize something. I bake for me and for others. Meaning: I bake because I enjoy baking, but I rather enjoy others devour the fruits of my labor.  I prefer the batter. Cooking is the opposite of passions: I cook for me, and if someone else enjoys the result that heightens my enjoyment of both the process and result . . . but I cook for my gain.  Is anyone else like this?

Following all the badder I felt very guilty for having not worked out (due to snow roads and highways) so I whipped out my Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred and pounded out Level 1 & 2.  It was ROUGH! But, thanks to my handy Polar HRM, I know that 45 minutes later I was down 455 calories – well worth it!
Now, back to relaxing.  Tomorrow is cook, clean, workout Sunday.

Entry filed under: cupcakes, dessert. Tags: , .

Snowy Saturday Yummy Tempeh

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


