Yummy Tempeh

January 11, 2009 at 10:29 pm 1 comment

I instantly knew today would be a lazy day – but I was pretty hungry straight off. I was anxious to make myself some oats with the famed White Chocolate Wonderful.  I mixed a 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 a medium mashed banana, 1 tablespoon of White Chocolate PB, 1 teaspoon of flax, and a teaspoon of cinnamon.  This was very very tastey, however sooo filling.  I couldn’t finish it – and I really took my time too. *Mental note: less oats.

oatties

After a peek outside I decided there was no way I would get outside of my apartment in the icky snow. So I cleaned the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. At least I was productive right? This weekend I watched a total of 3 Lifetime movies . . . thank you snow-day.

I couldn’t resist eating a cupcake after walking past them 100000 times. And OMG they were AMAZING after settling over night!! WOOOOOW!  Temptation has been at it’s peek all day.

yumm

Then I got onto cooking, preparing rather, dinner. Before I get into tonight’s meal, lunch was a repeat of yesterday’s but today was with the new Sunshine Southwest Veggie Burger, I cooked this up and wrapped it in a La Tortilla Factory Low Carb wrap and 1 tablespoon of reduced fat shredded mozzarella. My take on these: much spicier (think black bean burger), but very tasty). I am officially 2/2 in for these burgers!  New staple item!

img_0175

Today was my first attempt at cooking with and eating Tempeh. So here is what I did:

Marinated & Baked Soyaki Tempeh

  • 1 8oz package Tempeh (I used Light Life 3-Grain)
  • 1.5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1.5 tablespoons soyaki teriyaki sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Trader Ming’s Soyaki)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt

1) Cut the tempeh length-wise and again into 8 squares, and again into 16 triangles. Place in closed steamer for 10 minutes.

2) Meanwhile, mix other ingredients in small bowl.

3) Transfer steamed tempeh into large ziplock bag and pour marinade over.  Shake bag to cover all pieces evenly and place in refridgerater for a few hours or over night (I did about 6 hours).

4) Set oven to 350 degrees. Cover baked pan with edges with tin foil, and lightly spray with oil. Spread tempeh evenly across pan and bake for 20 minutes.

Done!

I made this with Near East toasted pine nut couscous. I also made a grape-tomato bruschetta-esque topper. This really rounded out the meal!

Grape Tomato Bruschetta (serves one)

  • 10 grape tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1 teaspoon fresh basil

1) Cut tomatoes in half and again into quarters (8 small pieces)

2) Mix remaining ingredients and pour over tomatoes. Let set a few minutes for the tomatoes to absorb. Top couscous!

dinner

This dinner was beyond fantastic! All the flavors balanced out perfectly. I was actually more impressed with the marinade/baking combination on the tempeh than on tofu! It was just the right amount of chewy, now a fan of tempeh! I ate 5 triangles, a half cup of couscous, and the tomatoes. WOW, so full without being half way finished. Great dinner! The boyfriend opted for fast food but tried my plate and did enjoy it.  Currently hes enjoying cupcakes! 🙂

I’ve been full all night. Did 50 minutes of Wii Fit – unlocking a ton of new games and exercises!! I love Wii Fit!

Now we’re just lounging and watching t.v., getting ready for the work week. Happy new week all!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, faux meat, recipes, tempeh, vegetables, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , .

Successful Snow Day MIA

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. DJ Karma (of VegSpinz)  |  January 12, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I must retry tempeh. I didn’t know what to do with it at first, and didn’t like it, but it looks like I need to give it another chance!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


