Another snow-y day?!?

January 15, 2009 at 11:58 am 2 comments

Well I didn’t keep my promise to track all food yesterday.  Because I had an appointment after work I wasn’t able to go to the gym – major sad face. However that also meant that I ate the remaining Oreos in the house. Ugh I think I am over all that though – I officially sweet toothed myself out.

For the photos I did manage to take yesterday:  After forgetting my breakfast and eating the Veggie flatbread, I had a midmorning snack on my new favorite cereal/yogurt combo: 1/4 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch (honey almond) and 1/4 cup fat-free vanilla yogurt.  This is my new favorite dessert!  I had it for dessert last night as well!

imag0111

For lunch I heated a microwave meal, Smart Ones 3 Cheese Macaroni (has been my favorite one for a long time).  It was very satisfying – I think I finally just realized I need a hot lunch in the winter.

imag0112

I followed that up with four large sliced strawberries.

imag0113

Which were so ripe and yummy that I thought they were summer strawberries! At the end of the day I decided to try that new Kashi Homey Almond Flax Chew Granola Bar.  Review: Not even 1/4 as good as the cereal.  I guess I’ll stash these away as emergency bars, but ICK! Absolutely no flavor. Kashi failed me here, so I only ate half.

imag0114

Aside from my Oreos and last cupcake, I remained pretty tame snacking. For dinner I ended up making some french toast:

  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 2 pieces of whole-wheat bread

I mixed up the batter, dipped the bread (which it perfectly covered) and fried up for about 5 minutes. Utterly delicious – it was the perfect sweet comfort food. No picture due to extreme hunger! 🙂  Afterwards I enjoyed the “dessert” I mentioned above.

Today is a “half day” at work – the rest of the day is for paperwork.  Lunch is going to be a falafel platter, I can’t wait!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

MIA Gym Snob?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. miss v  |  January 15, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    i was all ready to comment on your wonderful eats, and then i read your last line – falafel platter coming up! i have been craving some falafel bad – i think i’ll make some for dinner tonight.

    yes – the seitan was surprisingly easy. however, if you don’t have the low-sodium soy, i suggest using half of what i indicated and half water. a few people stated that regular soy made it way too salty. you may want to reduce the soy even with the low-sodium. you can always increase saltiness if you need to, but taking it out after it’s cooked is pretty difficult.

    best of luck!

    Reply
  • 2. DJ Karma (of VegSpinz)  |  January 15, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Yeah, I call oreos vegan “crack”… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


