Hungry Girl

January 24, 2009 at 6:39 pm 1 comment

This week has been rough – a lot has been going on at work and with going to the gym after work I come home zonked at dinner.  Needless to say, updates have been sparse.

A few meals have gone into rotation, so I’ll just throw in some pictures of foods I’ve eaten this week:

BREAKFAST

Breakfast made use of my Fit & Fresh tupperware: Kashi Go Lean Crunch & Fat Free Vanilla Yogurt with Fresh Strawberries – very yummy!  And the ice ring did a great job keeping things cool!

imag0133

LUNCH

Lunch this week was a mish-mosh. I tried out some of the Pacific Butternut Squash Soup, pairing it with a baked potatoe and 1/2 cup of Amy’s Mild Vegetarian Chili, topped with a tablespoon of Fage 0%. Together they were incredibly satisfying – I really loved this lunch.  Unfortunately due to TOM, coworker and I have been splitting a Hershey bar for a few days. Oops!

imag0134

img_0195

imag0136

DINNER

Dinner Monday and Thursday Night: Fusili (my favorite pasta) with home made tomato sauce and eggplant (chopped up inside).  D really liked this and even ate it for lunch the next day – he never eats leftovers! He even re-requested it for Thursday’s dinner. It was pretty good, and the secret to any good sauce includes a few tablespoons of sugar and parmesean.

imag0132

I also ventured out and was going to make an Escarole and Bean soup – however there is an escarole shortage around here!  So I bought a pre-made soup and it just wasn’t nearly as satisfying as home made and fresh. Sorry for dark cell phone photo!

imag0138

Last night’s dinner was order in from a local Italian restaurant. D got a chicken parm sandwhich, and I got a grilled veggie wrap with eggplant, zuchinni, roasted peppers, mozzarella and balsamic dressing – so flavorful and filling.

BAKING

Thursday night I got the baking bug. I have been craving blueberry muffins in the worst way lately.  I kept going back and forth on whether to make hearty savory fatty bakery style muffins or healthy ones. After my terrible eating week I decided healthy would win. SO I bought myself the Hungry Girl Cookbook and followed the recipe for Blueberry Thrill Muffins. I followed the recipe almost exactly however used frozen blueberries since once again blueberries (fresh) were sold out!

I also concocted a sugary butter topping to make the muffin crispy and bakery like, as follows:

  • 1/4 cup Splenda
  • .165 cup wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons buttery spread (I used Smart Balance, at room temp)
  • 1 teaspon ground cinnamon

Mix it all well and sprinkle over the muffin better before baking! This can be doubled for more crispyness.

Results: 7 regular sized muffins, 132 calories and 4 grams of protein! D loved these even though he isn’t a blueberry fan, and I have had to ration them out. Very very moist and filling! I can’t wait to play with other ingredients – may add some flax seed next time. Success!

img_0199

img_0204

Today we got back into our weekend vibe.  I woke up first and did the Dunkin Donuts run – if that’s what makes our weekend, it’s only once a week and I’m happy giving in. So breakfast was a large coffee, sesame bagel, and reduced fat veggie cream cheese.  It was yummyy.  A few hours later I followed that up with a muffiny goodness!

For lunch we went to Fresh City so I could show D where he can get lunch at his new office. We both got burritos, mine was with tofu, rice, tomatos, black beans and guacamole – very delicious!  We then walked next door and bought cookies at Gimme Jimmy’s Cookie Bar. I got the M&M cookie: it was very crispy and moist at the same time, I love our weekend treats! Sorry for the missing bite!

imag0139

FITNESS

I’ve gotten back on track this week. On Tuesday I ran on the treadmill (yay finally), Wednesday I hit up the Elliptical (boo lock knees), Thursday I did Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred Levels 1 & 2 (holy cow how intense), and yesterday I did Intervals on the treadmill from fitsugar – I was so impressed with myself for running in the 7.0’s range! Yay!  Today is break day – D got me P90X yoga but I am still scared to try it. Any thoughts?

Entry filed under: breakfast, cereal, dinner, recipes, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Today is a foodie day! ANOTHER snowy day??

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. miss v  |  January 25, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    i love eggplant in my pasta! and those muffins look like little bites of heaven.

    as for yoga – haven’t tried it. i’m a runner – i tend to get bored if i’m in one place too long. best of luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


