ANOTHER snowy day??

January 28, 2009 at 12:00 pm 2 comments

At 5a.m. I was awoken with “The Call” – no school today due to “inclement weather” – a teacher’s favorite words. Unfortunately I was unable to fully take advantage and fall back asleep, especially since D still had to face the roads.  I have some major tasks to accomplish: clean and scrub the entire apartment and start writing progress notes until LOST! Oh, and make dinner. Here’s to a fun day “off”!

In blogworold, each night I make a concerted effort to get my daily photos together and write up a blog entry . . . and for some reason I’ve become a build-the days up kind of blogger. I have to embrace this.  The baking bug has bit me hard recently and this weekend was so busy (moving my sister back to manhattan) that I hadn’t gotten to feed the need.  So here are my daily eats for Mon-Tues-This morning and some baking/recipes:

Monday: Everything about Monday was a rushed meal due to extreme fatigue from Sunday’s NYC adventure.

Breakfast: Was a quickie last-minute Egg & Cheese Sandwich.  I followed that up a little later with some Kashi Go Lean Crunch, Low-Fat Vanilla Yogurt & bananas.

imag0140

imag0143

Lunch: Amy‘s Indian Paneer Tikka, which is an indian cheese cube meal with spinach, potatoes, and basmati rice.  My first take was that this was a little bland, however after I started to mix the elements together I was pretty satisfied with the flavors and very full. I would try another!

imag0141

Dinner: Waay too much penne alla vodka made with D’s family friend’s secret sauce (including artichokes and sundried tomatoes). I felt almost sick after eating this heavy meal, very delicious as usual.

img_0209

Tuesday

Breakfast: 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1 banana mashed, and some pumpkin pie spice.  This was incredibly pumpkiny – as good and completely filling as it was, I don’t think that much pumpkin is necessary, it really overtook the flavors.

imag0144

Lunch: Hungry Girl’s Fiber One and Oats Pizza Crust attempt #1!  I followed the crust recipe exactly (serving for one). It was very gooey and sticky and was definetly hard to form into a flat round dough shape, but I’ll play around with adding more crumbs to the mixture next time. I topped the pizza with 1/4 cup tomato sauce, 1/4 cup reduced fat mozzarella cheese, 4 large black olives, some artichoke hearts, and sauteed onions.  Mmm very very delicious!  I’d go back to this again and perfect my pizza recipe! I ate this with a TJ’s fiberful bar and my coworker brought me a Subway’s Chocolate Chip Cookie. Ah!

imag01453imag0146

Dinner: Same as previous night, left over penne alla vodka!

BAKING TIME!

Honey Whole Wheat Bread

After seeing all the recent bread making ventures in the blog world, i was watering at the mouth and wanted so badly to try my skills at kneading and such. I went out to buy myself a new loaf pan (oops I needed two) and some active dry yeast over the weekend.  I searched for hours to find the right first-timer recipe that required no eggs or dairy.  And, tada!  Thankyou allrecipes.com for this wonderful honey whole wheat bread recipe. The ingredients, from there, are as follows and makes 2 loaves:

  • 2 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour

I had to watch a kneading video online on epicurious.com, which I believe really helped my bread rise. I decided against using my Kitchen Aid, I wanted to do this the old fashioned way!  This photo is of the dough during the second rise, which I sat in the oven after warming it up and turning it off:

img_0211

And after two 45 minute rises, I put the loaves in the 375 degree oven for 25 minutes and my golden brown loaves were ready!

img_0225

img_0220

The top loaf was the most realistic looking – which I cooled off and sliced and froze, there is no way D and I would be able to eat 2 loaves of bread in a week let alone 2 days.  The second loaf (above) we sliced right into.  It was the perfect balance of honey and just the right density.  The bread with slightly crumbly and the top was nice and crusty. Earlier in the day D had brought home some homemade fresh mozzarella from an Italian deli he works near.  So I bought some tomatoes and made a small fresh sandwich.  With his beer in hand D said he felt like a king!

img_0224

So this morning I couldn’t help but dig right into the bread (which I stored in a paper bag).  I decided to make some french toast with 2 slices of bread (I cut them in half to make four).  I made the wet ingredients by mixing up 1/2 cup of egg whites, 1 tablespoon of light vanilla soy milk, a teaspoon (or 2) of vanilla, and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon.  OMG!  This was the most SINFUL breakfast I have had in AGES!!!  Is this even legal to make in my own kitchen??? I topped it with Cary’s Sugar free syrup – and nixed the fruit to just dig in!

img_0229

Now off to cleaning the apartment and doing work! Booh!

Entry filed under: baking, bread, breakfast, dinner, pizza, recipes, review. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hungry Girl Let me introduce myself… again.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DJ Karma (of VegSpinz)  |  January 28, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    WOW- you HAVE been busy! But obviously well-fed, though 🙂 That bread looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 2. miss v  |  February 7, 2009 at 8:57 am

    wow… so many delicious meals! i want to know what the secret sauce is for the penne! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


