Friday, pie day.

January 15, 2010 at 9:44 pm 1 comment

Today was supposed to be that day where I started off my food blogging on the right foot – well I’d say I hit it about 70%.  Here’s to a three-quarters ass start! I was awoken 10-minutes early from Veruca (my cat) mewing at my door incessantly. I have a standard wake-up fumble routine: feed cat, start coffee, start face/hair procedure, drink coffee.  My coffee = 1-2 cups of folgers and a some generous pouring of Silk French Vanilla creamer. Mmmm!

Once that procedure is successfully complete, I move on to packing breakfast. lunch, and snacks pre-dressing myself (so I don’t spill). Lately I’ve fallen in love with my CuisineArt Immersion hand blender.  Could someone have please alerted me to this say, 3 years ago?? I pretty much have wanted to throw my blender out the window a million times, until this jewel was finally gifted to me this Christmas. I AM IN LOVE!

This ultra-dark green smoothie was ultra sweet:

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen chopped spinach
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 tsp. agave

Yums! I sip on this when I arrive at work and through the first hour of the morning.

Breakfast also includes desk-side oatmeal. This week’s menu has been: Kashi oatmeal, 1/3 cup organic soy milk, 1/3 cup water, 1/4 cup cinnamon raisin granola, small handful of raisins.  Breakfast pretty much tasted like dessert and has brought me out of my usual oatmeal rut.

Unfortunately I was a bit carb hungry this morning and snacked on some twisty pretzels an hour and a half before lunch.

Lunch was my downfall of photo-taking #1. I wanted so badly to photograph lunch as it was last night’s phenomenal dinner from Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan, that even my omni-boyfriend loved, raved, and went back for seconds on! Anyhow, if you are interested I made the Broccoli Cashew Teriyaki Tofu Stirfry, sans tofu as I was too pressed for time to press my tofu!  I cooked up some brown rice which coupled up with this perfectly – I can’t say enough how delicious this was, restaurant style but healthier!  It’s a vegan dish we will definitely be returning to in the future!  THAT being said – I ate the leftovers for lunch, and was apparently so ravenous I couldn’t stop to think to snap a shot. Do try it (page 122 of EDBV).

I had to follow up lunch with a sweet – the last 6 or so squares of my 70% Dark Green Organics chocolate, perfect.

After work I had to see one client (my second job) and stopped along the way to pick up cupcakes for tonite.  D’s family was coming for dinner and I thought an assortment of cupcakes would be the perfect dessert.  While I was there I picked up a mini cupcake for each member of the family I was working with, and enjoyed a “french toast” mini cupcake. It was delicious and my dairy/egg indulgence of the week.

Dinner was order-in, our usual Friday night fare, however more as the boy’s family (mom, dad, brother) were joining us.  We ordered a regular cheese pizza, a margarita pizza, and chicken parmasean. As I am currently not eating cheese, the margarita fresca pizza was primarily ordered for me, but was truly a hit enjoyed by all!  It was a crispy crust pizza dough with whole tomatoes baked on it with olive oil, argula, bell peppers, and sun dried tomatoes.  I ate two pieces than went back for one more!  It’s basically salad on bread, right? Can’t wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!

Dessert was unfortunately not pictured, as we were drooling so hard we could not stand to be in the room as 5 cupcakes and not attack them.  We actually cut each of the 5 different cupcakes into quarters so we could each try a taste of the flavors.  I tried: pumpkin, tiramisu, carrot, and oreo cheesecake.  I didn’t try red velvet, however it didn’t look too fantastic and I overindulged enough as it was, it’s def. the most dairy/egg I’ve had in WEEKS in just one cupcakes worth of a serving. Eek, def. feeling guilty.

Fridays always seem to be my give-in diet day, as the boy enjoys ordering out and Friday’s logistically are a good night for it.  Typically we do pizza, thai, or mexican/burritos.  I can’t say I don’t enjoy any of them, and usually enjoy a portion of leftovers for lunch – which I plan on for tomorrow!

Game plan for the night is to do some blog reading, watch some t.v. (Dollhouse? Medium? anyone?), and just enjoying having nothing too pressing to do for one night.  Up early to whip up some classic Wilton Buttercream and head to cake decorating class #3! Happy Friday!

Entry filed under: breakfast, cupcakes, dessert, dinner, pizza, snacks. Tags: , , .

Cake Decorating Comfort eating

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  January 16, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Those desserts sound so good! YUMM.

    Thanks for the Tim Burton info! Hope I can get there early sometime to reserve tickets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


