Crack of dawn crock potting

January 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm 3 comments

This morning I woke up even earlier than usual, due to my yowling cat and early set alarm clock. I had big plans for today, which included having no clients after work, attending yoga, then getting home and having dinner ready for me.  Only 2/3 of those actually happened.

A week or so ago I saw that over at CaretoEat, Robin Robinson’s “No Hurry Vegetable Curry” crockpot recipe was a sure thing.  So I put it on my “to make” list and went ahead and planned to cook it up this morning.  The problem with having a meal ready for after-work, is pre-work prep!  I peeled potatoes, cut carrots, diced and sauteed onions, and more – all before eating breakfast! I set the crock pot for “low” and hoped it wouldn’t mush too much before I got home (mine is not fancy and does not have hour settings).

Meanwhile, I decided to pull out my tofu from yesterday’s TofuXpress experiment.  HOLY COW!  I wish I had snapped a photo – the tofu was literally 1/4 the size of pre-pressing!! And it cut like a block of mozzarella cheese!! IT WAS AMAZING!! I’m officially hooked! NEVER has my tofu fried up and browned so quickly and evenly, without any mushiness.  It even reheated fabulously – this was restaurant style tofu and I <3’ed it.

Up close – a little curry browned skillet action. Yums!

Breakfast Not pictured is my obligatory morning routine coffee addiction, that was downed simultaneously as dinner was prepped.  At work (these desk meals are going to get old fast) I finished off my green monster and granola and raisinless oatmeal. BAD DECISION!  My morning was then followed with bouts of hunger, which included animal crackers from the preschoolers snack stash:

and craisins!

Tomorrow it is back to the granola. I just need those calories to function with the kiddos!

Lunch Until recently I would buy separate groceries for lunch and for dinner.  A light bulb finally went off and I ceased the lunch goods, and have started eating dinner leftovers instead.  That way, I can experiment with different meals almost every night, and not waste any food.  Seems like a total no-brainer, I know.  With a family of 2 it makes no sense to waste. I digress… lunch was leftover “pad thai” with some of the pressed/fried curry tofu I grilled up this morning. PERFECT and I really can’t wait to revisit this dinner again. So delicious – and the tofu reheated and kept its crunch! I topped lunch off with the obligatory vegan chocolate chip cookie.

I reuse this bag for months at a time – it’s my snack plastic bag.

Fitness Sadly, my TOM has totally kicked my butt today with chocolate cravings and other pains.  Yoga just did not happen and although I am sad I didn’t make it to class, I did beat my body 3 days in a row, and I suppose needed my rest day.  Back at it tomorrow – yoga or running, TBD!

When I entered the apartment, the aroma of curry was delicious! I had to peek in and take a few tastes.  Totally delicious flavor, even before the coconut milk!

With coconut milk – a bit more soupy.

Plated with some fried up curry tofu and a little basmati rice.

Up close – total mouth heaven.

I def. would give this a try for a lazy day, and I’ll be keeping this as a return to.  Unfortunately D “didn’t feel well” (aka was afraid to try this curry deliciousness) and didn’t even taste it. Bummer – for him.  What that means is that I know have a TON of leftovers, which are perfect for: rainy days, busy days, broke days, etc. etc. etc.

This is a good segue for a peek into my freezer, where you will find 7 tupperwares of leftovers from the past week alone.  Three containers of my go-to lentil soup, two containers of sweet potato chili, and two containers of tonite’s leftovers.  I totally have begun to cherish my freezer section, and actually have saved money by minimizing my Amy’s purchases (as yummy as they are).  There is nothing like a warm, home-cooked meal that is legit and with no preservatives, right from my own kitchen.  I own the freezer.

What is not pictured in today’s food tally is an UNCOUNTED amount of chocolate chip cookies.  Really that could have been each meal for today.  I don’t know what is wrong with me, besides the obvious TOM.  It has got to stop!!! Self control woman!  I think tomorrow will need to start with a double smoothie to kick my day off on the right foot.

…and we’ve officially made it past hump-day, hooray!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, review, snacks, tofu, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Fab-thai Monthly overhaul

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I might have to do a post on this in the future, but in answer to your question, the only vitamin I take is a vegetarian B-12. 🙂

    Maybe I need a tofu press. I never manage to get restaurant style tofu at home!

    Reply
  • 2. aron  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:50 am

    i am SO bad at the crockpot!! i mess everything how (i know how on earth do you mess up a crock pot??). i need to keep trying – its so nice to have dinner ready when you get home!! this looks YUM.

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda P  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      Haha I usually mess it up too (too long, not enough time, not enough liquid, etc) but that’s why I keep trying new recipes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


