Monthly overhaul

January 21, 2010 at 9:19 pm 3 comments

This week has absolutely flown by – work has been jam packed by the minute, and so had post-work life.  In addition it has been by womanly time, and I haven’t been hit with such severe symptoms in months.  Let’s just say I’ve had zero self-control in the chocolate department and it is definitely beginning to show. Motivation? Sunshine? I NEED YOU.

Obligatory wakeup coffee + Silk creamer.

Changed up this mornings smoothie: 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup spinach, handful frozen strawberries, small banana, handful of blueberries. Perfection.

A little bit of morning smiles cattitude to start the day off right.

My sassy mentor.

Usual oatmeal with 1/3 cup soy milk + 1/3 cup water. Granola topping = happy return.  Fills me up so much better than without!

Lunch couldn’t come fast enough – and it was a big bowl of my vegetable curry from last night’s dinner. I slurped up every last bit and it was completely warm and satisfying, the perfect midday meal to keep me trucking for another 6 hours (thats right).

Not pictured: Vegan chocolate chip cookie (forgot to upload). Another handful of preschooler animal crackers and pretzels.  Ahhh mid-afternoon carb snackies are terrible!  Having carrots on hand may be a good idea, however that works better in warm weather. What good, filling, low calorie, healthy snack can you recommend that is satisfying in the winter?

Dinner was all D tonight.  I worked late, which means I come home HUNGRY.  Usually this happens once a week on Thursdays, and it becomes D’s night to cook, aka PASTA NIGHT. He cooked up some rotini/fusilli and it was ready when I walked in.  Tossed in with some tomato sauce, and I zapped up some Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs to top it.

May not be the most photogenic meal, but it was delicious and absolutely hit the spot. Comfort food at it’s simplest form.

Dessert was a chocolate overload.  I get absolutely chocolate crazed about once every 4 or so months.  Apparently this was the week.  The week I decided to reattempt blogging.  How fateful. I had an undisclosed number of vegan chocolate chip cookies (let’s just say, you won’t be hearing about them again anytime soon) as well as a few dark chocolate candies. UGH.  I only feel guilty because of my buddha belly. Otherwise, I’m totally okay with it.

Cake Decorating

My cake decorating course in on Saturday morning, which means I have to have my cake baked and iced tomorrow night in preparation for decorating on Saturday morning.  This course, it also meant that I had to have fondant rolled and ready at least 24-hours before class: homework, tonight.

The assignment was to gum-tex, and dye 12oz of fondant, and make an undisclosed amount of tear-drop shaped rosebud centers.  Let’s just say . . . I was not feeling this tonight.  I was tired from working extra, and crazy from needing/eating chocolate.  I also had not properly purchased all recommended items (oops).  However, seeing that I do want to learn, I cleared off the dining room table and set up shop.

And kneaded, and kneaded, and kneaded.  Until I got a big pink blob. Fondant was a bit of a pain to work with, however not as annoying (yet) as quite a few had warned me it would be.  HOWEVER: it truly does catch ever speck of dust in a 1-mile radius.  How in earth am I ever going to use fondant without catching a piece of dust in it? I’m extremely concerned and perplexed about this future dilemma.

My final product.  I settled on 12 tear drop toothpicks.  I highly doubt we will make more than that in class. I actually I’m fairly certain we won’t make more than 2.

My notes, and what my drops should look like – and hopefully will turn into next week.

Check it out: Chocolate-covered Katie’s Vita-Mix Giveway!! So awesome!!

Entry filed under: breakfast, cakes, dinner, faux meat, fondant, smoothie, Uncategorized, vegan, vegetarian, wilton. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Crack of dawn crock potting Too busy to eat

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    This week, my snack of choice is popcorn! Warm, filling thanks to the fiber and pretty tasty–I just love it.

    Cake decorating sounds fun, although, I can see how it might be less fun in homework form. Have a good time at class!

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Beautiful cake!

    I love apples with cinnamon, nuked with a little Greek yogurt.

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda P  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      Oo I always forget how versatile an apple is, thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


