Too busy to eat

January 24, 2010 at 12:46 am Leave a comment

Sometimes I feel like a ragdoll being pulled in 5 directions and am about to fall apart.  This has been one of those weekends where I’ve been asked to do many things, when all I really wanted to do was stay in, get my life in order, and relax.  Unfortunately that hasn’t been in the cards.  I need me some serious yoga.

Let’s rewind to yesterday’s eats:

Breakfast

Spinach/banana/strawberry/almond milk energy smoothie.

Deskside oatmeal + 2/3c soymilk + 1/4 cgranola

All together now, wooh! Good start to a busy day.

LUNCH was a frozen homemade selection: Ridiculously Easy Lentil Soup – my go to last-minute throw it together soup. Always filling and satisfying.

Dinner was all down to a lost bet.  Now Fridays tend to be our order-in night, and unofficially “Pizza Night”.  It was my turn to pickup the pizzas – because I lost a bet. About the “Jersey Shore”. I won’t even go into it, it’s that absurd.  I lost the bet and picked up the pizza. We ordered from a place I do consider “real pizza”, living in the pizza mecca, however it always is D’s top choice.  I’m happy they offer customizable pizzas and ordered myself a thin crust, tomato sauce, onions, olives, pineapple, and spinach pizza. They forgot the spinach. 😦  I was so hungry I couldn’t think straight and didn’t even consider adding protein to the pizza.  I gobbled up many squares happily though – delish!

Then I got to work.

Check out that apron! (sorry for bathroom photo).

Baking. I needed to bake a 4-inch cake for my cake decorating class. I used this as an opportunity to try another vegan recipe.  This time from Burton‘s Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan book. I choose to try the Coconut Cake, based on ingredients alone.  I made two batches of the recipe (and the batter was quite good) and let them cool for awhile before I leveled them off and iced them.

I kind of screwed up the filling/icing.  I wanted to try a vegan cream cheese frosting, that went as follows:

  • 1 8 oz package of Tofutti cream cheese
  • 2 tablespoons earth balance
  • 1.5 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Problem? It was 11:00 p.m., I hadn’t stopped working/baking/cleaning for more than 5-minute, and I was utterly exhausted.  I used 2 tablespoons of vanilla, which made the entire consistency go to flop.

Solution? Continuously pour powdered sugar into the mixing bowl until reaches proper consistency.

Taste? Not great but not terrible.  I’d like to give the real recipe another go though!

Half of one of the cakes after some leveling action.

By the time I cut and leveled the cakes I pretty much could have closed my eyes and fallen asleep standing up.  I almost feel that way now so I’m going to post this and start on my cake revelation post – to be updated.

Hope everyone is having a far more relaxing weekend!

Entry filed under: baking, breakfast, cakes, dinner, pizza, smoothie, soup, Uncategorized, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Monthly overhaul Cake-love!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


