Quick-fix meals

January 25, 2010 at 8:23 pm Leave a comment

Dinner was a selection from Robin Robinson’s Quick-fix Vegetarian, where I have overtime compiled a list of favorites and go-to meals. Tonight’s menu: Potato-Onion Pierogis with Broccoli, Onions, and Walnuts.

I followed the recipe exactly, even including the walnuts – which I was a bit apprehensive about, however I do trust Robinson and so I proceeded.

Tonight I realized red flag – I need a bigger skillet. The pierogies (which were in fact vegan – no dairy or egg), wouldn’t crisp up as much as I would have liked, they really couldn’t all cover the bottom of the pan.

Regardless, the meal was ultimately the best choice for a very rainy, dreary day.  I consider this a happy medium comfort food – warm, gooey potatoes, with some vegetables sauteed up on the side.  I even enjoyed the walnuts (probably because I used diced and could barely notice they were there).

Even D enjoyed this – and went back to clean up the leftovers.  SUCCESS!

After dinner, I was munching on some vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips (HOLLA my local grocery store’s version of these just happen to be vegan – SCORE!). Meanwhile, D was chomping on pretzels, when…. (after poo-pooing my non-milk chocolate chips):

D: HEY!  Can we make chocolate covered pretzels??

He’s so lucky I love to mess around in the kitchen.

D happened to find a pouch of milk-chocolate discs that his mother had given us with a fondue kit for Christmas, so I agreed to zap them in the microwave and dip the pretzels, really this is the most non-labor intensive dessert ever.

They may not be the prettiest pretzels, I admit to haphazardly dunking and dropping (mostly due to the fact that I was not going to be eating them), however I think D is satisfied!

With that idea, my dessert was a handful of semi-sweet chips and a handful of pretzels.

Now that’s a night. Until tomorrow!

Entry filed under: dessert, dinner, quick fix vegetarian, vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Quinoa Attempt & Tofu Express Part2 Rice & Beans – Italiano Style

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


