Quinoa Attempt & Tofu Express Part2

January 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm 1 comment

It’s been a bit of an overwhelming weekend, and today I woke up not feeling very well.  So no morning photos, but you can rest your minds knowing that I did make a big pot of this:

Breakfast ended up being carb-load:  a repeat of Saturday’s Kashi/Almond Milk/Banana combo.  I followed that up an hour later with a piece of Ezekiel Sesame toast and Tofutti French Onion  “Better than Cream Cheese”.  Honestly, this flavor tofutti has become a staple in my refrigerator for the weekend bagel run.  I am completely in love with it’s texture and flavor.

After some relaxing, I pulled out a creation I whipped together last nite.  Behold:

Black Bean Tomato Lime Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup organic canned black beans, rinsed & drained
  • 3 tablespoons chopped cilantro (more/less to taste)
  • 1 tomato, chopped/diced
  • 1-2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed oil
  • 1-2 tablespoons Bragg’s Amino Acid
  • 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

Cook quinoa with 2-cups of water until boiling, bring down to simmer, and cover until absorbed (10-15 minutes).  Meanwhile, prep remaining ingredients.  Soak tomatoes in lime juice. When quinoa is finished cooking, let cool before mixing in all remaining ingredients. Refrigerate. Tada!

This is a VERY satisfying, and easy dish to pull together.  I ate it for lunch today and whipped out my new best friend, Mr. TofuXpress.  I pressed some Lite Firm Tofu for 2 1/2 hours.

Pre-pressing (above).

Post-pressing. It cut like cheese and kept it’s shape! Not wet at all!

I sprayed my frying pan with a mist of oil using my Mr. Misto.

Let the pan heat up then toss in the cubes. Sprayed them with some Braggs, and sprinkled on  some garlic powder.

And wait for them to get all crispy and browned. YUMM!

LUNCH, ALL TOGETHER:

It’s quite filling, and my first success with quinoa. I will absolutely be returning to this for lunch this week, as my recipe made a HUGE batch, and it isn’t quite freezer material!

Of course, I have to share with you a 3-day old slice of my Coconut Cake. Surprisingly, it hasn’t lost much moistness at all!  This recipe (from ED&BV) is quite moist, and I love the slight crunch from the shredded coconut.  Topping it all off is the almond taste, which is above all my favorite cookie/cake flavoring.  This cake was a success – and I think it may end up becoming a go-to fallback recipe in the future.

Until later, happy eating! 🙂


Entry filed under: cakes, dessert, recipes, review, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Cake-love! Quick-fix meals

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  January 25, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    That quinoa looks so tasty! Your pictures make me crave some good tofu.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


