Rice & Beans – Italiano Style

January 26, 2010 at 8:04 pm 4 comments

I don’t suppose I ever posted my dinner plan for the week:

  • Monday (was): Quick Fix Vegetarian‘s Potato & Onion Pierogies with Walnut & Broccoli
  • Tuesday (tonight): Vegan Yum Yum’s Italian Rice & Beans
  • Wednesday: Roasted Vegetables with Baked Tofu and Kale
  • Thursday: Pasta night (probably leftover vegetables for me)
  • Friday: Pizza night

and on to TODAY!


Breakfast started with my usual cup of joy.

I whipped up my desk-side smoothie to go with some unpictured oatmeal.

I only used 1/2 a banana and as a result, the remaining combo didn’t quite cut my need for sweet: 1 cup frozen spinach, frozen strawberries & blueberries, 1/2 banana, 1 cup almond milk, drizzle agave.

Dressed & ready to go:

I enjoyed my breakfast at my desk alongside a my multivitamin (whoops been slacking) and a B12 vitamin.  I keep them at work so I can try to remember to take them each morning.

Lunch was leftover quinoa salad & fried garlic/braggs tofu. Even more delicious warmed up!

I’m not going to lie.  I def. followed that up with a slice of Vegan Coconut Cake. I actually brought 1/4 of the cake to work and everyone loved it – regardless of the fact that it was vegan.  Even some old-school italians with pretty high standards loved it, and marveled at how moist it was.  Success!

At the end of the day I snacked on some of these sesame rice crackers, they are a good afternoon snack choice to let me munch without too many calories.

I saw my after-work client, who wasn’t in the best mood, then stopped at the local grocery store to pick up pine nuts for tonight’s dinner recipe.  Now, originally I had decided to opt out of this ingredient, as a small bag of pine nuts would $6.99 and I only needed 1/4 cup.  However, upon further speculation I decided if I stopped at a different food store and they had the fill-your-own style grains/nuts, I would fill up just with what I needed.

GREAT decision, $2.00 for 1/4 cup, and that was all I needed.

Dinner was Vegan Yum Yum‘s Italian Rice & Beans.  I had seen it previewed earlier this week and knew I needed to give it a go.  D is very picky with all my ethnic meals and I figured an Italian-style dish would pique his interest.

I followed the recipe to the T, aside for 1 thing: I didn’t buy sundried tomatoes in olive oil as they were also pricey for the amount I needed, at $7.99 a small jar!  I bought unpacked sundried tomatoes for $2.99 (3x the amount in the jar) and jarred them in olive oil myself.  However, they did not quite reach the soft texture I’m sure this recipe was calling for.  None the less, good enough.

Can I just say?? What a FOOL I would have been to not include the pine nuts! They were the element that tied the entire meal together!  Golden brown and toasty, the pine nuts MADE this dish.  So please, if you are going to try this (which I do think you should), INCLUDE THE PRICEY PINE NUTS! And probably go with the pre-jarred tomatoes.

I LOVED this.  D barely tried it, only because he was “starving”.  He had an issue with the texture, let me just say: he has texture issues. He’s so darn picky, and said it was “obvious leaf eater food”, however I think it was near perfection, especially steaming hot!  ABSOLUTELY will re-make again.  Thanks YumYum!!

I just stole a bite of cake and will be off to the gym to most-likely run through a food-induced/digestion cramp.  Hey, better lat then never right?

At least I’ll have Biggest Loser to return to later.

Tomorrow? HOT POWER VINYASA YOGA OR BUST.



Entry filed under: dinner, recipes, review, smoothie, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Quick-fix meals … and running running, and running running…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  January 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    That looks SO delicious!

    As a side note, I’ve always been REALLY picky and had texture issues. Being a vegan has definitely helped me to branch out.

    Hope you didn’t get crampy on your run!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      Eating vegan has also opened my food world up tremendously – if only the boy would adjust a bit more !

      Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  January 27, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    I love that you plan out your food for the week, that you’re eating vegan food, and that adorable polkadot dress you have on!

    Keep it up, girl! ❤

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda P  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      Thanks for the sweet comments! when I didn’t plan my meals I was grocery shopping aimlessly everyday! Way too consuming! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


