… and running running, and running running…

January 27, 2010 at 9:59 pm 2 comments

Finally I can sit down tonight.  It’s only 9:25pm and I get to upload photos and write this up.  Only took 5 hours to get here!  Last night I couldn’t fall asleep (blame terrible sleep habits) and woke up exhausted and anxious today.  Mostly anxious that I would again be too exhausted to pull myself over to do some hot yoga loving, I haven’t gone all 2010!!!!

Amazingly, I think I’m RUNNING on overdrive.  Since I haven’t “stopped” moving all day, I have gotten many things accomplished and am positive I’ll crash tonight once I crawl into bed.

Let’s start with . . . BREAKFAST.  Today I brewed up my unpictured pot of java, and actually drank the whole pot.  I know. I also knew I needed “real” energy, and turned to some fresh baby spinach. I usually go with the frozen variety as it keeps longer. Two handfuls (plus a little more) with 3/4 cup almond milk:

Produced a superbly greeny more JUICE like consistency smoothie!  I LOVED the color!!

I then added 1/2 a banana, 1/2 cup of frozen berry medley, and a drizzle of agave.  Remember in preschool when you would mix: green, red, yellow, and blue?  You get brown.

Still, VERY yummy and went down much easier than my traditional SUPER frozen smoothie.  I can’t wait to use the rest of this fresh spinach this week, and I may officially have to change over to fresh!

I never would have thought I’d go green. Deskside breakfast included unpictured oatmeal.  I’m so starving by the time I reach work (8:40) I just ZAP and eat!

LUNCH also goes without photo – due to 3-minute eating time.  Rest assured it is the exact same lunch as yesterday. Quinoa salad heated up with some garlic cubed tofu! YUMSIES! Don’t be fooled, I ate a handful of preschool style animal crackers too.

My afternoon sped by and before I knew it, it was time to go do me some HOT YOGA baby. I ate about half of this Gala apple an hour before class.

Only problem?  I was running late and pretty much was an anxiety ridden stress ball the whole ride to the studio, and clambered in with probably a Pigsty sized (via Charlie Brown) energy ball of chaos emanating from me. Absolutely not the way I wanted to start class.

Once I hit the mat I relinquished myself to the practice. That’s what I love so much about yoga, it channels my mind and body to the present and I get to shake whatever it is that is plaguing me.  No lie – during savasana I thought I was going to burst into tears.  I’ve heard of this happening to people before, but never me.  It was the strangest thing, but I guess all of this stress I’ve been carrying around finally got some relief. Thank goodness. Also, today was my first attempt at birds of paradise, I actually sort of love it even though I need to devote a lot more time to practice this and other poses.

Feeling like I was floating on air, I drove home where D had actually arrived before me.  In my sweaty, natural high state, I started prepping a simple comforting meal.  Roasted Vegetables.

  • Oven 475 degrees
  • 3 small potatoes cubed
  • 4 mini sweet potatoes/yams cubed
  • 1/2 large onion sliced
  • 1/4 butternut squash cubed
  • 3 large carrots sliced diagonally
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1-2 tablespoons E.V.O.O.
  • To taste: dried oregano, rosemary, salt

Mix all together!  I roasted for 20 minutes, pulled them out & mixed together, then let bake another 20 minutes.

I served mine with my favorite veggie burger ever, Amy’s California Veggie Burger. SO simple, delicious and fulfilling.

D ate his with some grilled balsamic chicken, and thoroughly thanked me for dinner, state that the butternut squash was “actually pretty good”. Duh!!  I’ll be throwing those leftover veggies in tomorrow’s lunch.   This meal was completely satisfying and worth the 45-minute wait!

As I write this I’m snacking on some vegan semi-sweet chocolate chip cookies and mini pretzels.  This is pretty much my new go-to snack and I’ll have to snap a shot tomorrow, love the sweet/salty combo!

Before I end this, I just want to share a quote I red on Vegetarian Star about Ginnifer Goodwin’s switch to veganism.  It totally resonated with me and my state of mind:

“… one day a year and a half ago, it hit me over the head while I was making a hearty breakfast that it wasn’t, in the grand scheme of earthly things, intended for me. What would happen to my body, to my soul, if I did not consume an animal or anything taken from an animal? So I educated myself. I relinquished the safety blanket of my ignorance.”

The statement about relinquishing the safety blanket of ignorance – that is totally how I feel about where I am now and how I got here.  You can read more about Ginnifer’s choice at Oprah.com.

Now off to enjoy some quality R&R with my sassy friend, nite!

Entry filed under: dinner, fitness, recipes, smoothie, vegan, vegetables. Tags: , , , , , , .

Rice & Beans – Italiano Style treacherous day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  January 28, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Those veggies look delicious! I love that quote. A lot of people want to NOT know. I used to be like that in my pre-veg days.

    About the difficulty commenting on my blog, I have heard other complaints like that about blogspot. I’m thinking of moving the blog.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:18 am

      I know it’s surreal when you stop and think about how many people just go through the motions day to day without stopping to think about their actions (or without wanting to). It’s fantastic that this subject has gotten into the spotlight recently, as little by little more and more of my friends/family are asking me questions and I don’t feel guilty for giving them my opinion and ruining their meals.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


