treacherous day

January 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm 4 comments

This morning we got slammed with a mini snow storm that was not forecasted, and therefore led to treacherous driving conditions.  Six of the last 7 1/2 years I have lived in either Manhattan (where I walked everywhere) or San Diego (where the worst weather was the wildfire). When snow hits, I hit the panic button.  But I did manage to suck down some java in a Halloween mug.

Last year in a bad storm my brakes locked on an onramp to the highway, imagine my panic when I realized I was in a rental car and had NO idea where the emergency break was. Yea.  Scare #1.  Scare #2? Today.  Going down a hill, to a stop light at the BOTTOM of the hill.  Pump breaks, pump breaks, SPIN. Upon near-crashing into the curb (happened in slow-motion I swear), I was so lucky the car behind me was really keeping their distance or else he would have smashed RIGHT into me as I was immobile for a good minute.  Just shaking.

My 20 minute commute turned into a 50-minute commute, with a downhill spinout.  PERFECT. Anyhow, point being is my whole morning started out all whirlwind like.  Most teachers were almost an hour late, students didn’t get picked up by buses, you get the drill.

I had photographed my breakfast and lunch, only to have not eaten my oatmeal and smoothie and grabbed a bagel instead as I ran around the school. Then I was informed my work friends were all going out to lunch.  So I forewent my pre-packed leftovers lunch and joined the in crowd for a falafel sandwich (divine).

I WILL say that I am saving all of my pre-packed food for breakfast/lunch tomorrow.

I also will say I drank at least half of this smoothie as my afternoon snack and ignored all unhealthy meeting snacks. GO ME!

My afternoon client canceled last minute, so I got to come home and attempt to cook a new (for me) vegetable, as posited by Michelle and her dark green challenge! Thursdays are generally “pasta” night, as I work late and D can be successful with making dinner.  I decided to keep with the plan and use the opportunity to try out kale chips.  I scoured a few only recipes which were all more or less the same.

I rinsed and tore about 2/3 of this bunch of organic kale.

I then thoroughly kicked myself for not owning one kitchen gadget, a salad spinner.  I tore the kale to bite size pieces and threw them in a pasta strainer and rinsed away.  I then grudgingly pat each piece dry, individually.  I’m OCD like that at times.

Oven at 375 degrees, I covered a cookie sheet with parchment paper, spread out the kale, then sprayed with olive oil from my Misto and sprinkled with garlic salt.  Generously.

I then set off the high screech smoke detector, that seemed to stop whenever I stood under it, and pulled my kale chips out after 10-minutes.

I think they could have went for 11-minutes, but they were pretty crispy and quite delicious!  I would make these again, and I think my generous pouring of garlic salt helped quite a bit. D took a bite, followed with “Oh, they’re not bad. They taste like salt.”  I may have been too generous, but good nonetheless!  I piled a side plate up with the chips.

Coupled with my carb-load of rotini pasta, marinara sauce, and TJ’s meatless meatballs. So simple but oh so comforting. I do enjoy me some pasta night.

Fitness

I waited for dinner to digest 90-minutes and then suited up for the gym.  While I had energy I pumped out some intervals and ran 35-minutes for 3.5 miles.  It was nothing spectacular but considering my inconsistent runs recently, I’m happy to have finally not taken a walk break in a 30+ minute period, and even ramp up some intervals to 8:13. Slow and steady is better than fast and injured, right?

As a side note, my hamstrings and arms are just aching from yoga yesterday, in a good way.  We did so many forward folds, which I needed so badly.  I think I need to do at least 10 a day on my own so that I can reap the benefits daily.

On tonite’s agenda: Planning a mini-college reunion for Prez Day weekend in . . . DC! Too bad it’s not a warmer destination, but friends are worth it!



Entry filed under: dinner, Uncategorized, vegan, vegetables. Tags: , , , .

… and running running, and running running… Desserts Day.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  January 29, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I do NOT miss living in Minnesota and driving in the snow! Unfortunately that means things will never be canceled because of the weather in Manhattan…

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  January 30, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      Touche! NYU did not cancel a single day in my four years there, although the hope was still there.

      Reply
  • 3. Vicki  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    What a scare! Glad it turned out fine.

    I keep hearing about these kale chips. I’m not a huge kale fan (but I don’t really dislike it either) but I’m thinking that it looks pretty tasty crisped and salted.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda P  |  January 30, 2010 at 11:35 pm

      This was honestly my first try at kale and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I’ll def. be returning to it as a “healthy” side dish. I’m just going to have to lay off the salt a bit. Try it for your girls!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


