Slightly Sunny (leftovers) Sunday.

January 31, 2010 at 7:07 pm 3 comments

As one may have surmised, we have a few food day routines in this house apartment. For example: Pasta Thursday and Pizza Friday. Pasta day is simply for convenience, whereas pizza day is an indulgence D looks forward to weekly. He chooses our carb-heavy days, I choose the rest.

Bagel Sunday is another food-day tradition that I indulge in for D’s pleasure more than my own.  For a few months last year I didn’t participate and stuck to my regular breakfast foods of oatmeal/cereal or even pancakes and french toast.  You’d think having homemade breakfast would seem more appealing than a bagel, but having D eat these for breakfast with me was almost torturous. Those months weighed heavily on D and finally I realized how much he really did enjoy bagel weekends (at that point).  Last year, these mornings were also associated with eating our breakfast in bed and lounging together before the day started.  So we restarted this again  much to D’s delight. This morning we did enjoy our bagels which are not pictured.  I always top my wheat bagel with tofutti cream cheese, yum!

Lunch was one of my freezer selections – from my personal collection of leftovers.  Currently, these include: Ridiculously Easy Lentil Soup, Sweet Potato Lentil Soup, and an unknown third vegetable medley. Today I enjoyed the Sweet Potato Lentil Soup, from Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan.

I made this about 3-weeks ago, and have to say it is quite delicious even after it has been frozen. The flavors blend in such a way that the sweet potato and the spices balance out so nicely.  I ate a nice warm bowl of this, and followed it up with a doughnut or two.  Absolutely comforting meal on a chilly day.

Fitness

Today it was about 32 degrees outside.  What made it more pleasant, was of course the fact the sun was peeking out for a few prime hours.  I took that as a sign and decided to lace up my sneakers and go for a run in the sunny prime.  I geared up with my fleece and some mittens, and of course my iPod Shuffle to follow my usual weekend run route, approximately 3.75 miles. The run was fantastic, my knee didn’t start to ache until about mile 3, and I had sufficient energy to probably run another 3 miles (due to D’s carb-heavy choices most likely). However, the cold was a bit painful on my ears and lungs, and so I stuck to my plan and headed in.  This is where I wish I had a Garmin.  I think, depending on whether we take a vacay or not, I may end up buying one this spring.  Maybe.

I tallied up all my runs for January, which were approximately 2-per week (how sad) and between 3-4 miles each. Overall, I’ve run exactly 26.2 miles in one month.  I laughed out loud when I saw that.  People run this amount in one day. And this is all I ran in a month?? How pathetic!

My goal this month is to try to obviously run more, and do yoga more.  Back in my hey-day I did run about 25-miles a week, but that led to injury.  So perhaps slow and steady, with a 10% per week increase, is what I should stick to.  If that’s true, next week I should get close to 10 miles in, which really isn’t too much to ask for.

Hope your weekends were good to you. And be sure to check out SnackFace’s Giveaway!  It’s a good one for us veggies!

Entry filed under: fitness, recipes, review, running, vegan, vive le vegan. Tags: , , , , .

Desserts Day. Southern comfort.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I know–my mileage this month was less than what people run during a marathon. It happens. 🙂 After all of the trouble I’ve had with shin splints the past 6-7 weeks, I’m sticking to that 10% rule, too!

    We used to get bagels every Saturday morning. Sometimes I miss that.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      Well your NYC bagels are the tops and are even harder to resist! I love how many typical ny delis offer tofu cream cheese spreads!

      Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  February 1, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Yep, boys do like their bagel days! But as I was walking to work, I was really craving one this morning so I think I’m going to have to have one soon!

    I hear ya on wanting to run more… it’s the injury that always gets in the way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


