Southern comfort.

February 1, 2010 at 8:34 pm 4 comments

About three month ago I got on a homemade chili kick. A work friend and I took turns making a vegan dinner each night for 3-weeks as my kickoff to vegan eating. One night she totally hit it home with a sausage lentil chili that D and I demolished.  I kept asking her for the recipe but she is one of those “just throw it together” types and really had no recipe to share, aside from the key ingredient: Mexican Chipolte Field Roast Sausage.  I spent some time investigating recipes until I came around to PPKs Lucy’s Real Vegetarian Chili recipe. I tweaked it by adding the Field Roast sausage, and changing a few ingredients around to my liking.

Holy wow. D and I demolished this even moreso than the first chili!  It absolutely has a kick to it – but nothing over the top by any means.  This is 100% my go-to chili recipe.  In fact, when D came home tonight and saw me at work in the kitchen, he asked “Is that the really good chili? YES!” he also asked “Are you making cornbread too?”, to which of course I answered, YES. I made Veganomicon‘s Skillet Cornbread, except, not in a skillet – and I halved it. Perfection! Enjoy my tweaked version of the chili below, and I heartily thank the PPK for this meal!

_____________________________________________________________

Vegan Sweet Potato Chili

Ingredients
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, peeled and chopped fine
1 sweet potato, medium, peeled and chopped
1 Field Roast Chipolte Sausage (1 link); chopped
1 15 oz. can fire roasted tomatoes
1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 15 oz. can pinto beans, drained
2 Tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon oregano
3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped fine
1/2 tablespoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon sugar
2 bay leaves

Directions
Heat olive oil over medium heat in a deep cast iron skillet or large soup pot. Before it begins to smoke, add onions and saute until softened, about two minutes. Add the sweet potato and saute another minute. Stir in the sausage and allow to brown for three more minutes.

Add tomatoes. With a potato masher, crush the tomatoes until tomatoes are slightly smushy and sausage is more crumbly. Add beans, garlic, chili powder, oregano, cumin, red pepper flakes and stir to incorporate. Add the sugar, bay leaves and stir. Lower the heat to simmer and cover. Simmer for twenty to thirty minutes, stirring one or twice to prevent it from scorching.

On a side note, I’m not really sure in which direction I want this blog to go.  I am beginning to feel that daily eats/fitness updates are not my style. I think this may tend to lean more towards cookie/baking recipes and reviews, with some side notes on my fitness adventures as well (once they get up and running). This is still to be determined, however this may suit my needs and interest more in general. We shall see!

Entry filed under: baking, bread, dinner, ppk, recipes, review, vegan, veganomicon. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Slightly Sunny (leftovers) Sunday. Sweet & Sour Broccoli Tofu Dinner

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Ha, I just posted a comfort recipe, too. Great minds think alike. 😉

    That chili looks sooo good! I’ve never tried sweet potato in chili but I keep hearing about it so I need to give it a shot.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      Ooh you absolutely should try it – the sweet potato balances out the chili/kick 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Tami  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Mmmmm. …chili! I have some of that Field Roast Mex. Sausage in the freezer waiting for me to try it.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda P  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      If you’ve never had it before I have to say, it’s amazing! The texture/flavor is absolutely perfect for meals with a slight kick! I’ve used it as a marinara sauce too, yum!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


