Sweet & Sour Broccoli Tofu Dinner

February 2, 2010 at 8:41 pm 4 comments

Today was one of those days where I had an agenda and I absolutely needed to stick to it.  Why? Because it’s Lost premiere night! I rushed around after work to see my client, then raced to the gym to squeeze in a 40-minute 4-mile run (hey without stopping – that’s progress for me).  I then sped home, full of sweat, to throw dinner together.  Luckily, I had already thrown the tofu in the press this morning and the rest was a matter of preparation.

DINNER

On the menu tonight was Vegan Yum Yum recipe for “Sweet & Sour Broccoli Tofu”. My tofu was nice and firm and perfectly pressed, so I tossed it quickly in the egg-replacer and corn starch – which pretty much makes the best tofu ever. I am generally against fried anything, however to stay true to the recipe I let the tofu brown until lightly golden in a half canola oil/half sesame oil combo. AMAZING. Really, it’s worth trying at least once, and it will be difficult for me to stay away from making tofu like this frequently.  It was the most CRISP, crunchy tofu ever.  Just like sweet & sour in a restaurant, absolute success.  If anything try this recipe for the tofu alone.

The directions call for a lot of pots working at once, and luckily I had D on hand to help grab certain ingredients and prep them alongside me (although he severely disliked how cornstarch feels on his fingers – and I can’t argue that one).  Prep was at least 20 minutes and took a good 35 minutes overall to cook everything.

As far as the sauce goes, D and I both agreed that although it was quite delicious, it was more on the sweet side, and a little too much at that. I definitely suggest halving the amount of sugar or ketchup called for.  Unless you like super sweet – your call.  D and I both agreed it is a recipe we will return to, just with tweaked sugar/sweetener amounts.

Tomorrow is a 75-minute hot power vinyasa yoga day, which should feel excellent after today and Sunday’s runs. However making dinner may really be a stretch, we’ll see if I can be as successful as tonight.  I’m also going to need to make flowers for this weekends cake tomorrow – it seems to be never-ending the things on the TO-DO list!

Anyone else out there a list person?

Entry filed under: dinner, recipes, review, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , .

Southern comfort. Back with some dinner & dessert.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    I’m not normally a list person, but I’ve noticed I get a lot more accomplished when I have them.

    That looks really yummy. I don’t really eat much fried food, either, but I’m sure tofu tastes amazing crispy like that!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:08 pm

      Vicki! I don’t know if you subscribe to comments but for some reason your blog is blocking me from reading it! Did you move to a new site?

      Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  February 4, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Yes. I love lists. I carry 2 notebooks! I’m also a LOST person. What’d you think of the episode?! I had sweaty palms the whole time.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda P  |  February 11, 2010 at 11:52 am

      Aww well the snow days are so nice, aside from shoveling out the car! No fun at all!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


