Back with some dinner & dessert.

February 7, 2010 at 10:17 pm Leave a comment

I totally dropped off the face of the blog-world and haven’t looked at my reader since Wednesday (which now has 330 unread) – that tells you just a slice of how busy this week/end has been. I dabbled in two recipes for Wednesday & Thursday night’s dinners – and Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were all take out or eaten out. So let’s rewind to two recipe reviews.

Wednesday: Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan “Hide the Lentils Tomato Sauce”.

Originally I had planned to make Veganomicon‘s Red Lentil Cauliflower Curry, however post-yoga I realized I had forgotten two key ingredients and started to panic, looking for a quick backup. A few deep breaths later and flip through ED&BV, I came to a simple new take on pasta sauce. I followed the recipe to a T, and thankfully the glorious part about using red lentils is that they cook so quickly!  I blended the sauces in the pot and what resulted was the creamiest of sauces, that D  shared was delicious (completely unelicited too). The recipe also made a lot, and so I froze up the leftovers for another dinner panic.

Thursday: Veganomicon “Marinated Italian Tofu” with Mashed Potatoes/Cauliflower

Because we did “Pasta Night” on Wednesday, Thursday became a free-for-all  throw together dinner. I had some leftover tofu from earlier in the week that I had pressed  in preparation for dinner, and also had some potatoes and cauliflower from Wednesday’s dinner that didn’t happen.   Luckily for me and timing, D arrived home before me and set up a pot of boiling water and peeled potatoes, so that I just had to throw in the cauliflower when I walked in. I quickly whipped up the Italian marinade from Veganomicon (ayiyi ingredients galore) and let the tofu soak for about 30-minutes. I know this meal appears to be lacking something of the green variety – I had planned on garlic seasoned broccoli, however I was so starved by the time the other food was ready – I just dug in, whoops!

The tofu was fantastic, personally I think the cooking wine really sends the flavor over the top.  I will absolutely return to this in the future as it looked and tasted gourmet. Next time with broccoli. or asparagus The mashed potato/cauliflower mix was awesome and perfectly creamy – another “you’d never know it was vegan” delight.  D had no clue – aside from the cauliflower bag I left out – and enjoyed these immensely.

Mashed Cauliflower & Potatoes (vegan)

  • 4 medium potatoes, washed, peeled, and chopped
  • 1 bag frozen cauliflower florets or 1 medium head of cauliflower chopped
  • 1/2 cup vegan margarine (Earth Balance)
  • Eye-ball amount of soy milk (1/2c – 3/4 cup)
  • 3 cloves crushed garlic
  • Salt to taste

Bring pot of water to boil then add potatoes and cauliflower to re-boil. Lower heat and cook until potatoes are easily pierced. Drain and return to pot. Add butter and soy milk and mash with potato masher until mostly broken, then add crushed garlic and mix.  Blend in pot until creamy, and salt to taste. Voila!

Overall last week’s dinners were quite satisfying and I think I’d return to each of them, some with a few tweaks. This week I am looking to conserve some money and so our meals won’t be very new or exciting, especially since I work until 8:30 tomorrow evening and will be away Saturday-Monday. So we have planned:

  • Tuesday: Fajitas
  • Wednesday: Broccoli Sesame Noodles (Quick Fix Vegetarian)
  • Thursday: Pasta fall-back
  • Friday: Out I hope!

Fitness I had a great hot power yoga class on Wednesday, and decided that I want to start really focusing on the more difficult poses at home each week.  I’m going to be practicing some standing poses, as they are currently more challenging for me: extended hand-to-big toe pose, standing splits, and warrior III pose).  I always become very wobbly in these poses and I think a daily practice of just 3 poses a day would benefit me.  I’ll report on that as the week goes on!

Stay tuned for my final Wilton Course 3 Cake update!

Entry filed under: dinner, eat drink be vegan, fitness, pasta, ppk, recipes, review, tofu, veganomicon, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sweet & Sour Broccoli Tofu Dinner Wilton Course 3 Finale Cake

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


