SNOWED IN – an obligatory baking day.

February 10, 2010 at 7:52 pm 3 comments

We got the phone call last night that today would be a snow day, due to the incoming blizzard. Naturally, that meant I would stay up until 2:00 a.m. . . . working on my taxes.  This morning, of course my cat-alarm, daily alarm, and D’s alarm all proceeded to ring between 6:30 and 8:00.  I was out of bed, and very sleepy, at 9, due to my inability to fall back asleep.

Much of the day I succumbed to lounging, catching up on some blog reading, and cleaning (only a little), as the snow kept falling. Eventually D asked me for a treat, and I was as always, beyond willing to conjure up some vegan treat to lure him in.  His request? Peanut butter brownies, “the swirly kind”. Being that we didn’t currently have the cream cheese (tofutti of course) to swirly the brownie top, I made my own adaptions to Isa’s Peanut Butter Blondies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar.

I stuck to the recipe, however omitted the peanuts (as we don’t have any), and added a whole lot of chocolate chips.  I’m surprised this recipe didn’t already call for vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips, anyone know?  This definitely took the recipe over the top!

Adaptations

To the dough, add 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips.  Bake the blondies for about 23 minutes before pulling them out.  Then sprinkle 1/3 cup more on top of the baked blondies, and stick the pan back in the oven for another 2 minutes.  The morsels will not yet completely be melted, just melty.  Take a spoon and with the rounded back, smooth the chips to cover the entire top of the blondies.  Let them cool completely before you cut them.

Review? I need to be completely honest here.  I agreed to make these blondies knowing full well that I do not enjoy peanut butter as the rest of the world does. I baked these with the hopes  that I would have zero interest in them and not glance at the finished product more than once or twice for a photo.  I was dead wrong. These blondies (brownies now?) were the most fudgiest, most decadent, moistest vegan baked good that has yet to pass my lips and melt on my tongue.  My plan absolutely FAILED! Every time I walk by the kitchen I must wrestle with myself to step away.

If you have not bought this book yet, please do yourself the favor and order it now.  I have had multiple love affairs from cookies in this books, most notabley: Wedding Cookies & Lazy Samoas.

Entry filed under: baking, brownies, vegan cookies invade your cookie jar. Tags: , , , , .

Snow Blizzard = Soup Salvation. Ginger Sesame Noodles with Broccoli

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle @ Find Your Balance  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    We were all primed for a snow day here too, but the snow never came! No baking either…

    Great job making kale chips, so happy to hear!

    Reply
  • 2. rachel  |  February 11, 2010 at 7:43 am

    They look SOO good!! I hope there’s another snow day real soon so you bake something else for me to look at 🙂

    ps – i got the Teese in the mail – the cheddar “sauce” is okay … the hard cheddar smells like vom and tastes god awful (though, it melts!). They’re sending me a mozzarella variety- they say it’s milder (PS – Chicago Soy Dairy… no matter what the stuff may taste like, it’s a super nice company). Will let you know!!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda P  |  February 11, 2010 at 11:52 am

      How disappointing!! I hope that the mozzarella works well, imagine the possibilities for pizza & lasagna, yum!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


