Ginger Sesame Noodles with Broccoli

February 16, 2010 at 7:01 pm 2 comments

Last week I pretty much stuck to Robin Robinson’s Quick-Fix Vegetarian as my guide for cooking dinner for the week.  Thursday night I finished the week off with the “Ginger Sesame Noodles with Broccoli”.  I have probably now featured about five broccoli-centric meals on this blog, and I’m sure D has pretty much had enough of this vegetable (side note – I didn’t eat broccoli until a year ago), however it’s versatile and quick to cook.

Prep time for this meal was very quick, especially since it suggests tossing the broccoli in with the linguine towards the end of its cooking process.  I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I didn’t have mirin, and I added a little ginger powder and crispy pressed tofu to the mix during the stir frying at the end.

I found this meal incredibly delicious and satisfying.  The flavors were well balanced, not at all spicy nor bland. I think this broccoli-centric asian inspired dish was more successful than the last (which we rated as a bit on the sweet side).  I’d return to this meal and make NO modifications, aside from adding the tofu as I did.

I have not so great plans for dinner this week – mostly things I am throwing together from the cabinets and freezer (e.g., tofu fajitas tonight, potato & onion pierogies tomorrow, and pasta on Thursday).  Stay tuned for my D.C. food and drink update!

Entry filed under: dinner, quick fix vegetarian, tofu, vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

SNOWED IN – an obligatory baking day. D.C. Food & Drink Fest

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Ordinary Vegetarian  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Oh man, how’d you make your tofu like that? Looks ultra crispy and delicious!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:02 pm

      Sorry for my MIA delay in response! It was so easy to get the tofu this crispy! After pressing the tofu very well, i dipped the tofu in Ener-G egg replacer, then coated it it in cornstarch (which feels icky). I then let it turn crispy and golden in some olive oil on the pan!

      It’s so delicious!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


