Mushroom & Onion Baked Tofu with Asparagus & Rice

February 22, 2010 at 8:43 pm 2 comments

After last weeks dip into slightly uncreative meals, I got back on track tonight with a take on “Baked Mushroomy Tofu” over at glueandglitter.com. I had already pressed and froze my tofu last week, so I let it defrost all day in the refrigerator so that it would be thawed out by dinner.  Because neither D or I enjoy mushrooms, I decided I would trade out the mushrooms in the recipe for a full onion.  I sauteed the onion in some olive oil until nice and soft.

I then decided to change up the recipe some more, and added 1/2 of the 16oz container of Mushroom Soup to the pan, as well as about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken up the soup and make more of a thick gravy. I stirred frequently for about 5-minutes while it thickened up, then set the pot aside.

I then dipped my slices of tofu in 2 Ener-G egg replacers and let them slightly brown on the pan before lining my dish with the tofu.  I covered the tofu with the mix above, then pour the remaining soup on top.  I cooked for 40 minutes at 350 degrees.

Ten minutes before popping the mushroomy goodness out of the oven, I followed the Vegan Yum Yum recipe for asparagus, except omitted the shallots as our dinner was pretty onion heavy as it was.  I did add a little garlic salt.

Finally, I heated up some rice I picked up yesterday on a whim.  By description, I hoped it would balance out our dinner perfectly.  However upon ripping open the package I was slightly turned off by the “aroma”. It just didn’t sit well with me, however I heated it up anyhow and decided to give it a shot.

Overall, I found this dinner pretty delicious. The mushroom bake was an absolute success, and I think the sauteed onions really took it over the top.  It took me back to some dishes my mom used to make growing up – I’d even say this was near restaurant quality yum. The asparagus really was “primo” as D said. It as crispy, garlicy, and a little bit limey.  I loved it and just wish I didn’t have to worry about yucky pee smell later. Finally, the rice. The rice was just as yuck as I had thought by smelling it.  It wasn’t as bad when mixed up with the oniony gravy, however D couldn’t bare it at all.  So definite thumbs down on that.

Other menu items this week: Vegonomican’s Red Lentil Cauliflower Curry & Vegan “Hawaiian” Pizza.

Fitness

Well aside from yoga & one 3 1/2 mile run last week, my fitness has been severely lacking. I really have been thinking about it, and how my lifestyle has changed in the past few years (NYC where I walked and worked out daily, to San Diego where I was outdoors constantly moving, to suburban NJ where it is cold and miserable). Although I go to yoga weekly, I don’t go nearly as often as I’d like due to my second job.  And while I have joined a gym, honestly late at night my motivation is lacking.

When I lived with my parents I ran on their treadmill every day, maybe twice a day.  I have always wanted to purchase my own treadmill, however being on the second floor of an apartment it’s pretty much frowned upon and inconsiderate.  So I decided on the next best thing.  After hours and days of contemplation, test-outs, and price comparison/reviews, I decided to purchase the NordicTrack E5Vi.

Pros:

  • It folds!
  • It comes in 3 strides
  • It glides quietly and smoothly
  • iFit technology = Jillian workouts shouting at me on the elliptical speakers!

My elliptical should arrive Friday or Monday (I hope Friday), and I already purchased a Level 2 Jillian Workout (which actually comes with 24 workouts).  I am so beyond excited I cannot even express it.  I can’t wait to be able to work out whenever I want, for as long as I want!  Also, D said he will use it too!  Double score.

So look for iFit technology updates coming in the future!

Domesticity

I have been waiting nearly two months for curtains to be available on Urban Outfitters’ website for our office/new elliptical room.  While we had originally intended the purpose of the room to be for storage of our books/computers/plants, it’s become a room we use and we want it to reflect that and feel comfortable when working in there. So after waiting forever for stock to be replenished, I finally ordered a pair of these curtains:

I think that’s a wrap.  I’m going to top of my domesticity tonight with a batch of vegan chocolate chip cookies.  You know, I have to get it all in before the elliptical arrives.

Entry filed under: apartment, dinner, fitness, iFit, recipes, tofu, vegan, vegan yum yum. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

D.C. Food & Drink Fest Mexi-Lunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becky  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:30 am

    Oooh adding the onion sounds like a great variation!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      Thanks for the great inspiration Becky! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


