Finally! The best dish Veganomican offers!

February 25, 2010 at 10:03 am 3 comments

When I first began my dabbling in vegan cooking, I purchased the much acclaimed Veganomicon. I flipped through the pages and flagged dozens of recipes that I was interested in making.  While I did experience a few flops, I have had my fair share of successful meals as well.

In November, I finally got around to preparing the Red Lentil Cauliflower Curry recipe.  I was initially seated with a bit of fear in preparing a meal comprised of three items I had little experience with at that time: red lentils, cauliflower, and parsnips. This meal does take a bit of time to prepare, and do follow the suggestion to prepare (chop, etc.) all items before starting the process (which overall does take about an hour start to finish – not bad!).

In my humble, foodie, opinion: this is hands down the best dish Veganomicon has to offer. The flavors intertwine and balance each other fantastically (think: lime, curry, cinnamon – and roll with it). The cauliflower and parsnip become so tender and soft they melt right into each other to further intensify my love for this dish. I topped some brown rice with a few generous scoops of the curry medley – and it was pure excellence.  I would suggest brown basmati rice, but I was all out.

While D wasn’t a fan – I lend that to his non-adventurous palate and strange issues with “mushy” food.  He’s missing out which really only means: more for me! If you take one thing from my review, and this book, it better be this recipe. Hands down my favorite.

Entry filed under: curry, dinner, review, veganomicon. Tags: , , , , , , .

“Hawaiian” Veggie Pizza! Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil Pesto Pasta

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Ordinary Vegetarian  |  February 25, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I just got Veganomicon for Christmas and I’m overwhelmed trying to choose what to make next. I really liked the cornmeal crusted tofu. I will try this one next!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      I’ve heard so many good things about that tofu recipe I really need to try it! The book really is so overwhelming, it always help to have a suggestion.

      Reply
  • 3. JennShaggy  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Aww thank you so much 🙂 It was indeed served warm and melty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


