Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil Pesto Pasta

February 25, 2010 at 8:01 pm 2 comments

I’ve been snowed in all day, and consequently did not work late and need to rely on Thursday as fallback pasta night.  However, that is indeed what tonight ended up being, with a fancied up twist.

For Christmas I had bought D a medium sized AeroGarden.  He has since been growing chives, thyme, and basil successfully. Within the past 3 weeks the basil has really taken off and taken over the entire garden. It has grown tall and fat and I really have barely touched it’s fruits. So tonite, upon D’s request that I make use of all of that basil, I went to the books to find an appealing pesto recipe. I finally settled on adapting an Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan recipe for Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto with Toasted Almonds & Pine Nuts. Obviously I cannot share the recipe, however I will share my adaptions:

  • no capers
  • forgot the water (totally learned my lesson on that one)
  • 1/4 cup of slivered almonds, not toasted
  • closer to 1/4 cup of pine nuts
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups of fresh basil
  • 1/2 pound of whole wheat linguine

I made these adaptions based on my ingredients on hand really, and my craving for a real basily tasting pesto.

Results? This pesto was fantastic. As I was eating, I could easily imagine myself sitting outside at a restaurant on a summer night, enjoying this dish with a glass of white wine.  It was really “that good”.  It was also so incredibly easy to make – and I was incredibly grateful that my changes still produced a delicious finished product. The pine nut, basil, sun-dried tomato, garlic combo (okay – basically everything the recipe called for) really balanced each others’ flavors, contributing to such a fresh and comforting meal.  D shared his unsolicited appreciation (which is rare, as I am typically throwing the Spanish Inquisition at him at first-bite), stating how “fresh and awesome” it tasted.  He literally dug in.  I think this was my first success this week for dinner with him, so take that for what it is. My only future suggestion would be to add a little squeeze of lemon to the pesto mix – oh, and to add the suggested water. The pesto became quite clumpy when I tried to transfer it to the pot, and I then realized that I had forgotten that little suggestion.

Tomorrow is supposed to be dinner date night and elliptical night, however given that school was canceled for tomorrow and the storm is supposed to continue it’s progression, I sadly doubt either of these will occur.  Which also means I will probably get my baking apron on.

Entry filed under: dinner, eat drink be vegan, pasta, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Finally! The best dish Veganomican offers! Cinnamon Rolls: Vegan Brunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vegan Thyme (Kelly)  |  February 26, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Hi! I just read your comment on my blog re: cream cheese enchiladas and had to check out your own site–I LOVE it! Plus, you are a runner which I hold near and dear to my heart (even if I am some two decades older than you!)–my running has been around longer than my vegan ways! I am adding you to my blog roll! Glad you stopped by!
    Kelly

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:13 pm

      Thanks for stopping by as well! I’ve bookmarked a variety of your recipes on your blog, they are quite inspiring!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


