Cinnamon Rolls: Vegan Brunch

February 26, 2010 at 4:11 pm 5 comments

Saddled with a snow day, and “nothing to eat in the house”, I knew that I was going to need to bake something to satisfy my time, taste, and boyfriend.  I really haven’t completely dived into Vegan Brunch as fully as I had wanted, due to the window of time allowed for making breakfast most days.  So with time on my hands, I was determined to attempt either Cinnamon Rolls or New York Bagels. I thought for sure D would be interested in bagels, however he vetoed that suggestion and pulled all votes for the cinnamon rolls.

Be prepared.  I pretty much dove into this recipe thinking it would be “done soon”.  It literally took close to 2 1/2 hours before we could taste these heavenly buns. A little detail called, rising. Twice. Luckily, time was of no issue for me today.

As far the rolls go, I pretty much stuck to the recipe, which is easy enough.  I really love that the recipe called for all items that I just happen to have in my pantry. My only qualm is that the active dry yeast is supposed to sit in “luke warm” water, which is really a hard temperature to judge. I am fairly certain my yeast didn’t proof correctly, however that didn’t affect the final product which is all that truly matters in all things food related.

My cinnamon rolls were not exactly symmetrical – the end of the dough was rather thin compared to the center, and so I had different sized buns. They baked for twenty minutes before I pulled them out to ice them.

I didn’t completely follow Isa’s recipe for the glaze. Let me rephrase that. I followed the recipe, then added 2 tablespoons of EarthBalance, and whipped all the ingredients like crazy. I think the addition of the butter brought the sweetness down a notch by adding a little savory, as before it had tasted just a little hyped up on vanilla/sugar.

Review? All time related issues aside, this treat was well worth the wait. D really enjoyed these – eating two right away – and had no clue they were vegan. Okay,  he probably did know, but he didn’t make any snarky comments and raved about how delicious they were.  I have to say, everything about this recipe was spot on.  These tasted absolutely legit and phenomenally moist. The adapted icing/glaze was perfect and this is a recipe I will easily return to if I find myself with three hours to impress a crowd.  Absolutely a crowd pleaser, and I’m sure no omni would be able to tell these are vegan.

Absolutely brilliant. I had two myself.

Entry filed under: baking, breakfast, dessert, review, vegan, vegan brunch. Tags: , , , , , .

Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil Pesto Pasta Wilton, Fondant & Gumpaste Final (and First) Class

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BitterSweet  |  February 27, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Those look like everything perfect in a yeast-risen baked good: Fluffy, sweet, cinnamon-y, and just a bit gooey. I’m drooling over here!

    Reply
  • 2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)  |  February 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    This is the most perfect display of cinny rolls I have seen, ever, on blogs…and i read alot!!! I am a GF high raw vegan. I do eat cooked, but never gluten, so that’s why I dont make these but cinny rolls made by my grandma are a childhood memory I cherish forever. Job well done! thx for your contest entries, too!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda P  |  February 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      Thank you Averie, that is probably the nicest comment I’ve ever received! 🙂 We don’t usually eat such an indulgent breakfast but it was an awesome treat!

      Reply
  • 4. DJ Karma  |  February 28, 2010 at 1:11 am

    Lovely buns! Haha… I just had to say that.

    Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  July 31, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    I know this post is old, but I am making these rolls today to give to a friend & I Googled the name of the recipe to get some reviews from people. 🙂

    Anyway! You said that “lukewarm water” is hard to gauge, so I wanted to share a tip a baker friend of mine told me awhile back: “Lukewarm” basically means that when you dip your finger in the water, it should FEEL warm (not the same as your body temp) – BUT not so hot that you can’t comfortably leave your finger in there for a few seconds. If that’s the case, the water is too hot for the yeast & will kill it! Hopefully that helps you for next time. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


