Wilton, Fondant & Gumpaste Final (and First) Class

February 28, 2010 at 8:53 am 3 comments

For the past four months I have been taking Wilton’s cake decorating classes.  I can without a doubt say that I have learned so many skills from these courses, and definitely will try my best to use what I’ve learned to continue my baking adventures.  While butter cream wasn’t my “thing” (recap), I have sure had a lot of fun and success with the fondant (here and here).

I hate to say it, but the final course, Fondant & Gumpaste, was a bit of a wash.  Of the four suggested classes, our teacher opted to only teach two, describing the skills as “simple and quick to teach”.  Unfortunately for me, I had to miss the first class due to my D.C. trip, and apparently yesterday was our final class (of two). We made one each of three flowers: fantasty flowers (I have no idea what these are, and they are quite ugly), carnations, and daisies (which broke on the way home).  While I am excited to have learned how to make these little gems, now that I’ve browsed the internet for this class I’m rather jealous that other Wilton class teachers allow you to make a cake each week for Fondant & Gumpaste.  I mean, isn’t that the point?  How disappointing that I wasn’t even able to make one cake for this course!  I digress. Moving on.

I haven’t cooked much this weekend, which is our general weekend routine.  However, now I am saddled with the “Sunday Duty” (not to be confused with D’s “Call of Duty”), where I try to extract any possible dinner suggestion out of D (I feel like we’re playing dentist).  As always, he wants “options”, and so I turn to my books.

I generally choose 3-4 books to pull recipes from for about 3 dinner meals.  However today I do not even have a jumping point, so I pulled out five. What I come up with will be what you see this week.  Happy Sunday!

Entry filed under: cakes, gumpaste, wilton. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Cinnamon Rolls: Vegan Brunch Vegan Dumpling Stew

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hangry Pants  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:48 am

    I’ve seen that they have those classes at AC Moore & Michael’s. What did you think of the experience? How much was it?

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda P  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:17 am

      Thanks for visiting 🙂 I actually REALLY enjoyed these classes, and didn’t mind that I had to wake up a little earlier on a Saturday morning because I was excited to learn to decorate! Classes ran around $20 (more or less), but I think I may have spent close to $200 on materials – although it wasn’t necessary. I also def. gained a few pounds making so many cakes the first 2 classes, but without a doubt I’m satisfied with my overall experience and would recommend these classes.

      Reply
  • 3. Jenny  |  December 4, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Amanda, do you know if the wilton fondant is vegan?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


