Vegan Cream Cheese Tempeh Enchiladas

March 2, 2010 at 9:51 pm 5 comments

Last week I saw Kelly’s recipe for veganized cream cheese enchiladas and I knew, without a doubt, that these needed to be included in my life immediately. Having only cooked with tempeh once before, I have to admit I was slightly nervous about the texture in my enchiladas. I decided to stick with the amazing sounding recipe and include the tempeh as my protein of choice. I used Tofutti cream cheese and sour cream, and Follow Your Heart Gourmet Monterrey Jack cheese to top it all off.

Holy freaking yum.

These enchiladas are, without exaggeration, hands down, the best enchiladas I have EVER eaten in my LIFE. Now I took the leap of faith and made D the exact same filling as myself (meaning, all vegan). Wow, wow, wow.  He actually loved it too. Like cleared his plate loved it. These enchiladas are the perfect balance of creamy and kickin’, for serious.  The tempeh was as tender as any enchilada filling that has slow cooked all day, literally just broke apart.

I was able to fill 6 enchiladas, and I could only eat 1.5 without being comfortably stuffed (saving me a second serving for dinner tomorrow).  While this wouldn’t be a dinner I could eat more than once a month, it is now officially my go-to Mexican dinner, and honestly it’s moved up so high on my list that it’s going to be my #1 GUEST meal.

I did make a big fat boo-boo, and assumed that if enchilada sauce comes from Whole Foods, it must be vegetarian friendly at the very least.  This as not the case and I had to scramble to make a homemade recipe, which I found here:

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, or to taste
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 8 ounce can tomato paste
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Heat the oil, flour and chili powder together in a small pot, cooking for one or two minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and bring to a slow simmer. Stir well to combine and dissolve tomato paste in water. Allow to cook for at least 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add more spices as desired.

Fitness

Prior to making this delicious meal (which I do realize severely lacked in the vegetable category -working on that), I made it to a 6:00 Spin class at my gym.  I haven’t taken a spinning class in well over a year, I’d say pushing 2-years.  Let me just say, I am hurting in places I do not like to hurt.  And it has only been 3 hours.  We’re still in the process of stabilizing my elliptical (which is really annoying and if anyone has any suggestions PLEASE share), and tomorrow is my dedicated Hot Yoga day; however I do plan on doing a Jillian Challenge starting next week comprised of her new Yoga Meltdown DVD (out today) and her iFit program.  Details to come.

On a side note, I’m watching LOST, and really – is Sayid not the best???

Entry filed under: dinner, mexican, tempeh, vegan. Tags: , , , , .

Vegan Dumpling Stew Frozen Chocolate/Banana Shake

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mysticdolphin  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Hey 🙂 I just found your blog and I must say your foods look simply delicious! I will definitely have to get on those enchiladas!

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Oh man! Those look delicious! Bookmarking this recipe.

    Reply
  • 3. Melisser  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:09 am

    Those enchiladas sound SO good!

    Reply
  • 4. Vegan Thyme (Kelly)  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:08 am

    You made my day! How cool is this?! This is the first time EVER (well that I know of)–where I’ve actually had a recipe “review” sort of thingy happen! I am so humbled and flattered and soooo happy to hear you both loved them! Glad they will be in your cooking rotation, too and on your guests-coming-for-dinner meal of choice. Thanks so much! Okay, and I am really impressed with your workout commitment–Jillian challenge intimidates me. . . (unless there’s running in it!)

    Reply
  • 5. vegantickles  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    holy cow, they look amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


