Frozen Chocolate/Banana Shake

March 3, 2010 at 8:53 pm Leave a comment

I wasn’t going to post tonight.  Both lunch and breakfast were leftovers from Monday & Tuesdays dinners, and I wasn’t feeling too adventurous in the kitchen after coming home from some hot yoga. A few hours after dinner my sweet tooth starting to kick in and I started to empty drawers and cabinets to find something vegan friendly to satisfy my craving, to no avail.  I retreated to the couch with my water and a steadily  increasing desire for a cold icy treat.

I sat. And pondered. And then *ding ding* banana soft serve popped in my head.  Except, I didn’t have any frozen bananas, just ripe and room temperature. Incredibly frustrated, I became fixated on the idea of a cold banana treat, and finally came up with this:

  • 1 medium ripe banana
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1.5 teaspoons unsweetened organic cocoa powder
  • 5 ice cubes
  • a literal pinch of vegan sugar

I blended the almond milk and banana with my hand blender before adding the ice cubes, and the the cocoa and sugar.

This combination absolutely hit the spot.  It’s slightly creamy, bananay, and with a hint of chocolate for my sweet tooth. While it wasn’t exactly soft serve, I 100% know I am going to return to this with frozen bananas and whip it up soft serve style with some vegan toppings! I can’t wait to test it out!

Fitness

Tonight I attended a 75-minute hot power vinyasa yoga class.  I hadn’t attended in two weeks due to scheduling issues, and was more psyched than usual to attend.  Why?  I allowed myself to splurge on a pair of Lululemon Wunder Under Crops and a Satin Pirouette Headband.  I have been thinking of making the crop purchase for quite some time, however found myself trying them on and falling in love this past Sunday. Mine!  Spending that much on pants, I couldn’t say no to the headband.  Today was the first day with my new gear and let me say, it was the best yoga class I’ve had in a long time.  I was flowin’. I hit my chaturangas, vinyasas, and then some.  These pants were worth every penny, they hug in all the right places, hold their shape, wick, and all me to move all the ways I need to move unapologetically. It was pretty much just what I needed.  Tomorrow is my first Jillian Michaels iFit Elliptical workout, can’t wait to share my review!

Entry filed under: dessert, recipes, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Vegan Cream Cheese Tempeh Enchiladas Thai Curry (tempeh) Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


