Vegan Bagel Breakfast

March 6, 2010 at 11:33 am Leave a comment

I’ve mentioned before that D really enjoys our weekend bagel breakfast. Even though I tend to lean toward a homemade waffle/pancake/french toast breakfast, I’ve budged on this meal due to D allowing me to make whatever I please for dinner every night. Usually I smear my bagels with Tofutti French Onion spread, however the past two weeks I have not been able to find it (how does Whole Foods not carry this awesome item?).

This morning I had leftover plain Tofutti spread from the enchiladas, and I knew that it’s plain nature wasn’t going to satisfy me at all.  A quick shuffle through the vegetable bins in my fridge left me with some last-leg scallions – and so a breakfast spread was born.

I chopped up two bulbs worth of green onions and mixed them with the remaining spread. This totally stepped up the plain spread – the flavor and crunch were so delicious and reminiscent of weekend cream cheese I enjoyed growing up.  I love that making home made cream “cheese” spread is so easy!  Next time I may whip up some peppers and carrots and making a vegetable spread. The possibilities are endless, and I encourage anyone who misses this breakfast to do the same.

Coming soon.. A few product and book reviews, maybe even a first give-away?  Stay tuned.  Today I hope to enjoy the weather and whip out the Yoga Meltdown DVD.  Until the, enjoy your Saturday!

Entry filed under: breakfast, vegan. Tags: , , , .

Thai Curry (tempeh) Stir Fry Upcoming: Book reviews & recipes!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


