Vegan Bites Review: Eggplant and Chickpea Stew

March 9, 2010 at 8:33 pm 1 comment

For dinner last night I attempted my first recipe this week from Vegan Bites. I chose the recipe “Eggplant and Chickpea Stew” for its simplicity and for its veggie-loaded factor. I did not stray from the recipe at all, including all the suggested vegetables: onions, green pepper, eggplant, green beans, tomatoes, and some chickpeas. Preparation was quite simple, and I’d say took no more than 10-minutes. I let the stew cook for about 25-minutes before serving nice and hot.

Results? While this was hearty and good hot, I’d say this is a dish that becomes richer over time. I enjoyed my stew at dinner, however was by no means in love with it. D said it was “good” but didn’t say much else after only eating 1/4 cup worth.  I enjoyed the balance of spices, and I think that perhaps adding a touch more here and there would make this recipe stand out.

The recipe makes a pretty decent portion to serve 3-4, and so I stored the rest away for lunch this week (can’t argue with all those vegetables). Today at lunch I was hit with a blast of flavor burst!  This meal was so much more flavorful after it had sat and let all the different flavors mix.  I’m so glad I have enough of this for the rest of the weeks worth of lunches – going to get all my veggies in at lunch!  It is really well complimented by some hummus and pitas as  well. I calculated the nutritional information to share for 4-servings worth, and really cannot argue with the calories, cholesterol, and dietary fiber:

  • Calories: 200.4
  • Total Fat: 3.2 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 537.6 mg
  • Total Carbs: 37.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 8.9 g
  • Protein: 7.2 g

Overall I’d give this 3 stars, out of 5. It’s something that I enjoyed but may not be high on my “return to” list – and D wasn’t a fan.  On to the next recipe!

Entry filed under: book review, dinner, soup, Uncategorized, vegan, vegan bites. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Here comes the sun..day weekend recap. Vegan Bites Review: Pad Thai & Seasoned Tofu Tidbits

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


