Tofu Cookery: Foccacia Bread Pizza

March 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm 5 comments

While last week I cooked and reviewed recipes from Vegan Bites (which I am now giving away – enter!), this week I have the pleasure to cook and share some recipes from Tofu Cookery, all courtesy of Book Publishing Co. While thumbing through the book I was really looking for non-traditional tofu recipes, since most of us have used tofu to replace meat time and time again.

For tonight’s dinner, I landed on the recipe for “Foccacia with Tofu”. I instantly knew I needed to try this recipe, especially given my love (and epic failed attempts) for making homemade pizza. A quick scan of the recipe made me believe the rising time wasn’t so long and that this could easily be a week night dinner meal.

I followed the recipe exactly, only using unbleached white flour instead of whole wheat flour, and adding a teaspoon of dried rosemary to the dough.  I split the dough into two balls to make separate breads for D and I. I wanted the foccacias to be “Mediterranean” and used the following toppings:

  • 2 campari tomatoes on each foccacia
  • 1/3 of a medium sauteed sliced red onions (in 1/2 tbsp olive oil) for each
  • 1/2 can of artichokes packed in water (patted dry, separated, and split between breads)
  • 1/2 block of Mediterranean Herb Soy Feta split between each bread
  • 1/4 cup sliced kalamata olives (only on mine)
  • basil pesto (spread atop dough on D’s)
  • a sprinkle of garlic powder atop each before throwing in the oven

Instead of the 10-15 minutes of baking recommended, we let it bake for 18 minutes (and I think it could have crisply gone for 20 total). What resulted were two crispy, fluffy, golden, foccacia pizzas.

My foccacia

D’s foccacia

Results? Utter and sheer success! WOW, wow, wow!  I attribute the success of this dinner to two key components:

  1. The foccacia dough actually baked, crisped, and maintained it’s integrity with the toppings. It was crispy, fluffy and soft all at the same time. D remarked it was my “best pizza yet” (and he really was talking about the crust).  When I told him the secret ingredient was tofu, his response was that he didn’t care what was in it, it was good. I think this will become my go-to “pizza dough” recipe from now on. It only took about an hour to rise, not bad!
  2. The soy feta. It really sealed the taste of “Mediterranean” that I was going for, in fact it was out of this world and spot on as close to true feta as I can recall. It crumbled easily and maintained it’s flavor after being baked at 475 degrees. I even had D fooled into thinking it was “real” cheese (and I have yet to mention otherwise). Seriously, this is probably the most awesome product I’ve had the pleasure of falling upon at Whole Foods to date. It’s made by a company called Sunergia SoyFoods.  They have a whole line of tofus and cheeses in a variety of flavors. The remaining soy cheese flavors are: Lemon Oregano, Soy Bleu, and Tomato Garlic.  Absolutely worth checking out!

I would consider tonight’s dinner a 100% success. The dough rose and stayed crisp, D believed the feta was real cheese, and he almost finished off his entire pie. Please do yourself the favor and try this simple recipe out!  I’m sharing it courtesy of Book Publishing Co. I’ve done the math and have included the nutrition information at the bottom for 8-servings.  Enjoy!

Foccacia with Tofu

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup warm water (105 to 115 degrees F)
  • 1 tablespoon sweetener (I used vegan sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1/2 pound soft regular tofu at room temperature, mashed or blended
  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups of bread flour or whole wheat flour (I used 3 cups unbleached white)
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Combine water, sweetener, and yeast in a food processor with a dough blade or a mixer with a dough hook.  Let stand until the mixture starts to foam, then beat in mashed/blended tofu.  Add and beat the flour, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and salt, until the mixture forms a smooth ball and cleans the sides of the bowl. Add more flour as needed to clean the sides fo the bowl.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface.  Knead until smooth and elastic.  Place in a large, warm oiled bowl and turn the dough once so it is coasted all over with oil.  Cover the bowl with a clean dry cloth or plastic wrap and let rest about 15-minutes. Divide the dough in half or thirds and sprinkle baking sheets with cornmeal.  Roll or press out by hand each piece of dough on baking sheet to form 8-inch round.  Cover loosely with a clean dry cloth or plastic wrap and let rise until slightly puffed (no timing specified, I let it sit for about 45 minute).

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees F. Brush the tops with 1-2 tablespoons olive oil and arrange your choice of toppings on the puffed dough. Transfer the focaccias to a preheated baking stone or bake them directly on the baking sheets.  Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, or until golden brown (18-20). Transfer to racks to cool slightly, serve warm.

Nutrition for 8-servings: 238 calories, 35g carbohydrates, 8g fat, 8g protein.

Enjoy the rest of your night, and don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

Entry filed under: book review, pizza, product review, recipes, tofu, tofu cookery, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Reviews: Pure NRG Bar & Gardein Chik’n Tofu Cookery: Last Minute Dinner

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danielle  |  March 16, 2010 at 12:58 am

    The foccacia looks amazing! I’ve tried that soy feta before and was also really impressed. There’s only a few tasty non-dairy cheeses out there and that’s one of them!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessi  |  March 16, 2010 at 6:48 am

    i MUST try this. and i need to find that feta! no idea they made soy feta or bleu cheese. Oh My Stars that changes everything!

    Reply
  • 3. Vegan Thyme  |  March 16, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Great cooking! I love pizza–LOVE it! And you are right, if the dough doesn’t work, well, it can ruin a whole meal!
    That cheese, OMG! I am convinced I must seek this out now–thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 4. Amanda  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Really this was the most spot on non-dairy cheese to date! Unfortunately I wasn’t much of a blue/feta cheese user in the past, but I think it’s going to work it’s way in more often! Whole Foods!

    Reply
  • […] Focaccia with Tofu […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


