St. Patrick’s Day Irish Creme Cupcakes!

March 16, 2010 at 11:47 pm 6 comments

I have been missing cupcake baking in a big bad way lately, so I thought St. Patrick’s Day would be the perfect excuse to whip up a batch and try a new recipe.  I didn’t go totally out on a limb and stuck with The Joy of Vegan Baking‘s recipe for chocolate cake (it is so so so so moist and has fooled many a coworker). I wanted an Irish element, and a Bailey’s frosting seemed the obvious choice – except it isn’t vegan.  No fear, the PPK has the answer!  I whipped up a homemade batch of Irish creme as described in the PPK forum, whisking the following ingredients together:

  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons of chocolate syrup
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup whiskey

BRAVO! Just like the irish coffee we used to order in high school when we thought we were fooling waitresses into thinking we were wise and legal by ordering coffee with liquor. Anyway, it pretty much tastes as much like Bailey’s as I can remember.

I whipped up a “butter” cream frosting in my KitchenAid, enough to both fill the cupcakes and frost them:

  • 1 cup of Earth Balance buttery spread
  • 6 cups of powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of the “Irish Creme” creation
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Filled with irish butter creme

I found these cupcakes to be incredibly moist and the frosting to be pretty delicious.  It definitely is quite sweet, and you get a small whiskey kick.  I think the filling was a bit overkill, and these would have been the perfect balance with just the frosting and cupcake – but I was anxious to whip out the filling tip and have an excuse to try it out.  These cupcakes are a surely going to make many an Irishman happy tomorrow at the parade, and I’m certain they will make many a drunkard slightly more tipsy.  They’re not really packing a huge whiskey punch, but I’d like to see the placebo effect in action.

I’m going to try to ignore the 24-cupcakes sitting in my refrigerator right now.  On a more exciting note (really, does it get better?) a good friend of mine’s sister is getting married and they’ve asked me to make her bridal shower cupcakes!  I cannot wait!  that basically means a lot of testing and sharing on this blog.

Okay, for the last time, Happy St. Patrick’s Day and check out the giveaway!

Entry filed under: baking, cupcakes, joy of vegan baking, ppk, recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Tofu Cookery: Last Minute Dinner Saint Patrick’s Day the Vegan Way

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alexandra  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Yum! The cupcakes you made look professional! Congrats on being offered to bake for the wedding you mentioned. That is going to be a lot of fun.

    ~alex

    Reply
  • 2. Keri - IEatTrees  |  March 17, 2010 at 8:58 am

    These look amazing!! Now I’m thinking I need to make Saint Patrick’s Day sweets!

    Reply
  • 3. Jessi  |  March 17, 2010 at 9:21 am

    OMG totally going to try these. we are throwing my dad a surprise 50th birthday party next weekend…might need to make the frosting black for our over the hill theme…but this should work none the less! THANKS!

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  March 17, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Oh, my GOD! These look SO DELICIOUS!!! And gorgeous! Your frosting is so much prettier than mine. 🙂 Want to give me lessons? 😉

    Wow!

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:54 pm

      Haha the best lesson I didn’t even realize existed was to try out all sorts of icing tips at AC Moore! Soo worth it!

      Reply
  • 6. Michal  |  March 18, 2010 at 7:29 am

    What festive cupcakes! Happy belated St.Patty’s day to ya 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


