Saint Patrick’s Day the Vegan Way

March 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm 5 comments

So last night after about an hour of text messaging, my work friends and I decided we’d head into the city to see the St. Patrick’s Day parade.  Of the four years I lived in Manhattan I never had to urge to go to the parade, or even thought twice about it – so having the day off from work on a warm St. Patrick’s Day seemed like the right opportunity to take advantage of.

Woke up and grabbed a coffee, NRG bar (peanut butter = super moist and peanut buttery), and banana to fuel the morning.  I also packed my emergency snacks: popcorn & an apple (which would come in handy).  We got in and I chugged an OJ before joining the masses en route to parade central.  Now, as an ex-NYC dweller, Times Square was and has always been my least favorite place to frolic through.  It is a tourist’s trap and everyone else’s nightmare.  Today was no different, throngs of green shirted drunks at 10am were barraging through, however in the spirit of the day I didn’t let it bother me – and even went along with it (see later pictures).

The parade itself was fun, at first.  We enjoyed all the bagpipes and music, applauded the men in uniform, and gawked at youngsters being patted down for drugs – all while keeping a mental tally of Snookie-poofs parading by.  I’d have to say the parade was really the backdrop for the main attractions.

Eventually we got bored and headed out for some wine tasting and drinks (is it inappropriate to drink margaritas on St. Patrick’s Day? I know – wrong holiday, I just can’t get enough of cinco de mayo). Some people drank green beers, yuck.

I then forced people to eat my delicious cupcakes.  That’s a lie.  Random people on the street were begging to have one, and our waitress at lunch kept eyeing and finally blurted out “how dare you not offer me one” – to which of course I replied, “Eat woman, eat!” And she did. And it was good.

Soon after cupcake consumption we parted ways, and ran into the illustrious Naked Cowboy.  Usually he is the type of tourist trap I run the opposite direction from, however with a little tequila in me (it’s quite embarrassing how little it takes) my friend and I were pushing elbows to get our 1 minute of naked cowboy fame.  Standing with him for a photo was pretty much one of the strangest things I’ve ever experienced.  I don’t get it, but I did it.  He made us take a front shot and “back shot”. And he touched our asses.  Totally inapprops.

At this point I was pretty pretty hungry. My friend wanted to head to the W. Village to meet up with her friends at an Irish pub, and when in NYC – I crave NY Pizza.  I had recently read on SuperVegan that Slice‘s crust was now vegan and they offered Daiya cheese topped pizza.  Uhm, totally worth a trip downtown, no?  It didn’t hurt that it’s location was right next to the bar my friend was going to, so downtown we headed.

Slice was so freakin’ cute inside!  Small and simple, modern yet cozy. We were the only patrons it seemed at the time, and our order was promptly taken.  We weren’t starving, so we split a “Simpleton” – a marinara pizza with daiya. Yumsies! We both were just gushing about how delicious the pizza was!  The sauce was just the right amount of sweet, and the cheese was so creamy and melty.  We left wanting to turn around and take a slice to go!  I absolutely recommend checking this spot out if you are craving some cheesy NY pizza and I will be returning.

This is when I wanted to throw in the hat, but was persuaded into “one more drink”.  I honestly couldn’t even finish half a drink and started my long trek back toward the bus and then home. I had a fabulous last day of “mini” break with good and people – sharing vegan treats and eating vegan pizza.  I can’t complain, even if I do have to return to work tomorrow.

Look out for a return of a real dinner post again, and remember – Vegan Bites giveaway, ending Sunday night.  Hope you all enjoyed your St. Patrick’s!

Entry filed under: restaurant review, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

St. Patrick’s Day Irish Creme Cupcakes! German Night: Tofu Kartoffelkuchen Potato Pancakes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  March 18, 2010 at 9:50 am

    OMG- it looks like you had a ton of fun! I think margarita would be the only green drink that I’ve had… LoL @ the naked cowboy shots!

    Reply
  • 2. Cindy Fox  |  March 18, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    this is very amusing to me since “Naked Cowboy” is my bf and lives with me. I have his name as well as my own on “google alerts” so your article popped up. The only reason I clicked on it (usually delete most of them) is because I saw the word “Vegan” in the title and I am also (almost) vegan. I have recently started making my own vegan pizza on occasion and am glad to know there’s a place to get it outside the house.
    ps you sound like me bringing your own snacks with you…lol
    glad you had fun:)

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  March 19, 2010 at 6:54 am

      Haha that is pretty funny that that’s how you landed here – you bf must bring in loads of cash just chillin! The pizza was really good and soo worth trying, highly recommend it! 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Shenandoah Vegan  |  March 22, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Love the Naked Cowboy! How does he stay out there through the winter??? He must have super powers!

    Reply
  • […] I’ve had the pleasure of eating Daiya products at restaurants on two (grilled cheeze) occasions (pizza), and fell in love.  Go try it if you […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


