German Night: Tofu Kartoffelkuchen Potato Pancakes

March 18, 2010 at 9:32 pm 2 comments

For weeks D has pretty much let me know that he likes “regular food”, in the face of a multitude of Asian inspired dishes.  I finally took his lead this week, granting him pizza, pasta, and one free-choice: German.  As I previously mentioned, when flipping through Tofu Cookery, my primary intention was to find uses for tofu that I had yet to explore. The foccacia pizza certainly delivered, and so tonight I attempted a German-inspired potato pancake. The only experience I have with potato pancakes are from a box many many moons ago.  I definitely enjoyed them (topped with apple sauce or sour cream), but they aren’t exactly healthy and I never found a need to return to them.  So when I saw the recipe for “Tofu Kartoffelkuchen” (say that 3x fast), I knew it was something I wanted to try.

The recipe itself is simple and the ingredient list is fresh and short. It calls for a bit of frying (light frying we can say), however I think I totally got that all wrong.  First I put too much olive oil, then not enough.  I think you need to somehow find the right balance to crisp up the potatoes and not die from too many raw onions infiltrating your system. Also a large skillet would have been helpful, as these babies take up some serious time and space – it took me nearly an hour to fry up 8 – and mine didn’t even hit high crisp factor!

Regardless, they were delicious. I served them with some applesauce (which needs to play a larger role in my life) and some tofutti sour cream mixed with a little lemon juice. I had originally planned to serve with asparagus, however when I pulled the spears out they were sorta funky and I decided not to risk it. I substituted with a small salad.

Well? D really enjoyed it, I think.  He had just eaten lunch a bit earlier and was more interested in the salad (if I had known I wouldn’t have slaved for an hour on these babies!). I thought they were like delicious hashbrown pancakes, and really a great comfort food – except as all these potatoes expand in my tummy I am not feeling so entirely comforted. Anyways I would totally make these babies again, and encourage you to give them a try with one warning: BE CAREFUL when you grate the potatoes and onions.  I grated so feverishly that I grated off part of my thumb nail.  I know it’s gross, and I was really pissed.  So just take it easy.

Also important to mention, this was the first time I blended soft tofu, and I was amazed at how similar the consistency was to ricotta, and how delicious it smelled with mixed with fresh garlic.  I forsee some homemade vegan lasagna/manicotti/baked ziti in the future!

Enjoy the recipe below from TOFU Cookery by Louise Hagler, courtesy of Book Publishing Co. !

Tofu Kartoffelkuch

  • 8 medium-size potatoes, grated
  • 1/2 pound soft regular tofu, processed in a blender until smooth
  • 1 large onion, grated
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 3 tablespoons unbleached flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed or 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Heat a 6-inch skillet over medium heat andbrush with light olive oil or canola oil. Spoon about 3/4 cup of the potato mixture into the pan and flatten it to about 1/2 inch thick.  Fry over medium heat for 5 to 7 minutes on each side, or until golden brown. Brush more oil on the pan for the second side, if needed. Repeat this process for the remaining potato mixture; it should make 8 (6-inch) cakes.  Serve hot with applesauce on the side or top with tofu sour cream. Enjoy!

What’s the best use you’ve made out of a block of tofu? Don’t forget to enter my Vegan Bites book giveaway!

Entry filed under: book review, dinner, recipes, review, tofu, tofu cookery. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Saint Patrick’s Day the Vegan Way The incredible, edible, banana soft serve

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


