Book Review: Tofu Cookery

March 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm Leave a comment

And so ends my second week of cooking dinner from one book of recipes.  Last week I perused and cooked a handful of recipes from TOFU Cookery, by Louise Hagler, as generously provided to me by the kind people at Book Publishing Co. (thanks again!).  As I stated in a previous post, my main goal with this week was to find some recipes for tofu that are not the tried and true tofu uses that many of us pigeon-hole the protein with daily.  This book offers  a vast amount of recipes that include tofu in a variety  nontraditional roles, which make it so unique.

The book starts with a general overview of how to cook with tofu (weigh, blend, freeze, smoke, etc.) – which is helpful for both novices and experienced tofu cooks alike. The recipes are split into the following categories: Appetizers, Dips, and Spreads, Soups, Salads, Main Dishes, Side Dishes, Breads, and Sweets.

Many recipes are generously illustrated by bright and eye-catching photographs, which is what caught my eye for a few of the recipes I ended up cooking up!  Each time I flip through the book I find another picture that looks mouth-watering and I flag the recipe.  Unfortunately I just didn’t have the time to cook everything I wanted to in one week’s time, but here are a few of the recipes I flagged and can’t wait to try: Creamy Chipotle Dip, Spanish Tofu Rice Salad, Thousand Island Dressing, Zucchini Frittata, Chinese Sweet and Sour Balls, Tofu Foo Yong, Thai Tofu Peanut Sauce with Veggies, Penne Rigate with sweet red pepper sauce, Black Bottom Pie, Frozen Peanut Butter Pie, Blueberry Lemon Cake, and Banana Tofu Ice Cream.

Wow, I didn’t realize that I flagged so many recipes!  I had some great success with the following recipes:

Focaccia with Tofu

Pasta Primavera

Tofu Kartoffelkuchen

I think it pretty much goes without saying that this cookbook would be an excellent resource to add to any cookbook collection – and I’m not just saying that because I was asked to review the book.  How often do I start my dinner plan with a block of tofu and think “where do I go from here?” – this is the answer. I found the recipes easy to follow, and with very simple ingredient lists (nothing too impossible to find) – with most ingredients usually already in my pantry.  I totally encourage you all to check out this book and cook up some recipes for yourself.

Vegan Bites giveaway ends tonight at 12 a.m., make sure you enter!

Entry filed under: book review, tofu, tofu cookery, vegan. Tags: , , , .

The incredible, edible, banana soft serve Wrapping up winter

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


