Wrapping up winter

March 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm 5 comments

The past week has been just gorgeous, and suddenly gone are the days where I am satisfied eating hearty dinner leftovers for lunch. I crave salads, wraps, and sandwiches with the change of weather. And so, my grocery bills are even higher than before as I purchase lunch supplies as well.  This week I have been enjoying my new most favorite product every: Gardein Seven Grain Crispy Tenders.

Way way way long ago, before I was vegetarian and before I even was in college, I survived uncomfortably on chicken nuggets.  Chicken tenders have now become a frequent go-to snack for D, and I can’t lie when I say that I am sometimes craving what I smell crisping in the toaster oven.  So when I saw this product in the freezer section, I knew I had to at least give it a shot.

These. Are. Amazing. I’ve chopped them up in a salad, eaten them on their own, and thrown them in a wrap.  These are so fantastic I can’t even describe them in words.  They are light but so tasty, and legit – texture and flavor. I wish that more than 10 tenders came in a bag, however I 100% know that I will be returning to these again, and again, and again.  Do yourself a huge flavor and check these out!!

I’ve been enjoying my crispy tenders in: a multi-grain flat out wrap (I love how these are so soft), sun-dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, sabra roasted red pepper or sun-dried tomato hummus, and  spinach. You have got to try this combination, I love it. How about a close up:

The weekend in general has been nothing short of relaxing.  Yesterday D and I met up with two of my good friends at P.F. Changs, which was our first trip to the restaurant.  We got smart and made a reservation – which paid off because when we got there the wait was 2-1/2 hours!! We waited about 5-minutes before being seated. I didn’t take pictures of my delicious vegetarian dumplings or coconut stirfry (both which were fantastic), however I wanted to just share how intent our server was on meeting my vegan needs.  He asked about how strict I was and about which foods, and made sure my meal was made to my dietary restrictions.  For that, I was incredibly pleased with my visit to P.F. Changs despite their small-ish portion sizes.  I think this may be the most vegan-friendly non-vegetarian chain restaurant I have even been to.  Totally worth going to!

Today D and I took a walk at a nearby park and finished off our daily errands. I made a purchase that I probably shouldn’t have, however I’ll wait and share when it arrives in the mail (clue: it’s a popular runner’s item).  Yesterday I ran in the morning and my right knee is hurting and causing me to limp a little.  I have to make it a priority to foam roll my IT band like it’s no one’s business so I can get cracking! Tomorrow it’s back to the grind, and more rainy days, boo!  Enjoy your Sunday evenings and I’ll announce the winner of my mini-giveaway tomorrow!

Entry filed under: lunch, product review, vegan. Tags: , , , , .

Book Review: Tofu Cookery And the winner is…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  March 22, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I agree… I miss the chicken nuggets, even though it’s been 10 years! Fake chicken usually does a pretty good job at mimicking the real taste/texture… I love making cheesy “chicken parm” sandwiches!

    Reply
  • 2. Shenandoah Vegan  |  March 22, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Wait till you try the Gardein Scallopini! I will try the nuggets w/Hummus. Cool idea!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  March 22, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      I saw that you had reviewed those and they do look delish!! I’m going to have to get them next, even though I’ll really want to be non-adventurous and re-buy the tenders!

      Reply
  • 4. radioactivegan  |  March 28, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I bought some of the chick’n strips a few weeks with a coupon and haven’t tried them yet. I’m so glad to hear they’re good!

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  March 29, 2010 at 6:21 pm

      If they weren’t at a grocery store (whole foods) that was 20 minutes away, I’d be stocking up on these all the time. Maybe I should just stock up in general… hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


