Thai Dinner in a Bag!

March 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm 5 comments

Aside from eating out, one of the hardest parts of keeping a vegan diet is coming home and prepping a meal full of vegetables: washing, peeling, dicing.  Oftentimes I’m playing around with around 4+ vegetables, and have something else stirring on the oven at the same time.  After the last two week’s worth of cooking based solely on cookbook recipes, I needed to lighten up my grocery load and shorten some time (I also had to give up my two yoga days as I picked up two new clients, buh). So when I saw some new-to-me frozen vegetable options at Whole Food this weekend, I jumped on the chance to make my life a percentage or two easier. Enter: Thai Style Stir Fry

The vegetables included are: broccoli, green beans, carrots, onions, and bean sprouts.  The whole bag is only 100 calories (duh, vegetables) – which make it the perfect base for dinner! I left my tofu in the press this morning, and came back to a nice solid block.  I cut half of it and let it sit in a marinade that looked something like this:

  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger

After letting it sit about 15-minutes (I am incredibly impatient),  spray the pan with olive oil (I used Mr. Misto) and let the tofu brown on medium heat for about 10 minutes, until most sides are golden brown.

Remove the tofu from the pan and mist some olive oil again before tossing in the bag of vegetables.  Stir for about 5-8 minutes until the vegetables start to become soft.  Add a little less than half a can of light coconut milk, and another tablespoon of soy sauce, and mix with the vegetables.  Keep an eye on the pan and stir occasionally, but keep on heat until the coconut milk mix reduces and starts to bubble a little bit. At that point mix the tofu back in the pan and let mix for 1-2 minutes.  And serve over rice!

This was sooooo easy and delicious!  I need to make sure my busy nights are comprised of more meals like these.  The coconut milk/soy sauce combo was so smooth and complimented the vegetables fantastically.  You’d be a fool to not try this recipe out and keep it on stand by. D enjoyed it enough to go back and  clear out the pan! I think from now on I will always have freezer thai vegetables & coconut milk ready for a pinch.  The only things that may have kicked this meal up? Perhaps some lemongrass and a few peanuts.

In finesss news, since the weather has changed from sunny and seventies to rainy and cold, my momentum has dwindled.  I managed to hop on the elliptical tonight for 30-minutes, but that doesn’t quite cut it.  This morning at work my coworkers heard a crack (my knee) and a shriek (me) as something god awful happening to my right knee.  I limped around for about 5-minutes and soon recovered, so who knows what that means but it can’t be good. Just in time for my new running toy to arrive – super. So let’s hope that gets all cleared up.  Off to enjoy Lost!

Curious to hear what other people’s go to yummy quick-fix meals are?

Entry filed under: dinner, frozen, recipes, thai, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

And the winner is… Education Rant & A Quick Dinner.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:15 am

    This looks soooo good! Awesome dinner. I have seen those vegetables at WF before, but sometimes I’m not the biggest fan of frozen veggies. These look so fresh & crisp!

    My quick-fix meals are usually soup and/or salad, or a stirfry similar to yours, or pasta, or marinated tofu, or something from the CrockPot that I started in the morning. I try to not wait until dinnertime to decide what to make, otherwise I don’t make the best decisions & end up just kinda snacking all night since I’m too hungry to think!

    Reply
  • 2. Vegan Thyme (Kelly)  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I’ve seen those veggie packs, too–great recipe! And I hope your knee is okay–as a runner, you have to pay attention to those things or it could get ugly for you (trust me, both of my knees have had “work” as a result of my running!–but with good results). And I agree totally with you on those “changes in weather”–it totally knocks the wind out of you and zaps energy.

    Reply
  • 3. Gabriel Azoulay  |  March 24, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Hi Amanda,

    Nice to know that you are a vegan. I am a Yoga Instructor and currently teaching my students about raw foodism. I think your blog will give great inspiration to all those people who are seeking for perfect healthy lifestyle. Why don’t we share ideas to promote healthy living. Is that sounds good? You can check my blog site http://www.whyraw.wordpress.com and give your feedback..

    Thanks,

    Gabriel Azoulay

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  March 24, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    d’oh! sorry to hear about your knee! i guess at least you weren’t forced onto a slave ship that crashed in the middle of a jungle…

    🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:15 pm

      Haha right??? I thought last night’s episode was fantastical! I ❤ me some richard alpert eyeliner.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


