Education Rant & A Quick Dinner.

March 24, 2010 at 9:33 pm 3 comments

Ugh.  It’s totally been one of those days.  I’m not going to go into fast-forward complain mode, but I would just like to thank New Jersey’s Republicians for not giving a crap about the future of education. Thank you for cutting teachers.  Thank you for cutting extra-curricular activities.  Thank you for cutting in-class support.  I’m sad to think of how much these children are going to end up missing.  For many kids, schools are the one place that they can rely on for structure and support.  Bye-bye! What’s most painful is the large chunk of 35+ years experience tenured teachers who voted for the man who is making these changes.

Aside from the fact that I am directly affected, and my position may or may not exist next school year (won’t know until May 20th), our new governor has outwardly slammed the middle class and is going to further drive our economy downward.  What do you do with thousands of teachers who are getting cut?  They can’t just go out and find a position at a new school (in an already tight job market), as all schools in the state are affected.  So? More unemployment, less spending, and a whole bunch of other great benefits, etc. etc. etc. You know how that goes.  Not to mention the fact that now towns must hike up taxes (but only a small percent) to meet growing budget gaps. I’m sure people are just going to love that!  Yay for the middle class!

Rant over. I guess I just needed to explain why I just devoured a bag of veggie stix with no true hunger.  Stress.

So, after work we had a meeting to discuss the mess mentioned above.  I then rushed to Bloomingdales to get my pants hemmed (which by the way, denim is 15% off now and there is also a 20% off friends and family promotion going on now – hit. it. up.), and then rushed to get my hairs cut.  I had to stop at Trader Joes as it is the closest one to me, at 30-minutes away, and across the street from my salon.  Long story short – that’s how I got the veggie stix.

What I’m getting at is that I came home not entirely prepared to make dinner, mildly hungry, and annoyed that I wasn’t going to have time to work out tonight or tomorrow (work, work, work). A quick scan of my cookbooks left me uninspired.  I knew I just wanted some broccoli.  So I whipped up my short-hand version of Cavatelli & Broccoli – sans cavatelli.


  • 1/2 box of cooked whole-wheat fusilli (or pasta of your choice)
  • 3 cups of chopped broccoli (I used frozen)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 4-5 garlic cloves, chopped (what can I say I love it)
  • 1.5 cups of canellini beans
  • 1-2 tsp red pepper

Sautee the garlic in olive oil until fragrant, then add the broccoli and red pepper.  Stir until softened, then add the beans.  Stir for another 2-3 minutes, then add the cooked pasta.  Mix and enjoy!  I added some vegan parmesean to up the flavor a little.  This is not a true cavatelli & broccoli, however it’s so quick and easy and I do go to it in times of desperation (like tonight).

I hope not too many of you are affected by the cuts, as it appears NJ gets to be the leader of all things sucky. I hope now that I’ve indulged myself with a bag of veggie stix I can move on to a better non-emotional day tomorrow.  I want so bad to just enjoy some nice weather and go for a leisurely, non-painful, run.  That’s why we have weekends right?  On a more positive note, HOLY LOST!

Entry filed under: pasta, recipes, vegan. Tags: , , , , .

Thai Dinner in a Bag! Quick Tacajito Night

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  March 25, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I live in Virginia, so I don’t know what you’re talking about but your dinner is beautiful.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      Haha thanks. It’s just educational politics!

      Reply
  • 3. MarathonVal  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Hey girl, I feel your pain. I’m a school social worker in Chicago and it’s pretty awful here too…. what a mess we are in! It kills me that our government can bail out banks and corporations, but can’t bail out schools…. imagine the societal repercussions that cutting teachers, increasing class sizes, cutting music, gym, and art programs will have…. just for starters.

    Sorry I know that wasn’t uplifting, but just wanted to say that I know where you are coming from. And, worst case scenario, eventually things will be ok for us. The best of luck with everything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


