Quick Tacajito Night

March 25, 2010 at 7:58 pm 8 comments

First, I must apologize for yesterday’s unsolicited rant.  Possibly losing one’s job does that to people.  Today we had a bright and early meeting to discuss such possibilities, and then I saw a client after work.  Originally I had another client scheduled and didn’t expect to be home until around 7:00, but they happened to cancel and my possibility window opened!  While I had already scheduled a “quick dinner”, and wasn’t quite prepared to go for a run (still nursing my knee) – this did mean that I was able to get an hour elliptical workout in – and for that I am grateful!

Dinner tonight continues in the fashion of the rest of this week – quick and easy. I had leftover pressed firm tofu, wraps, and an onion to play with. I added some rice, black beans, pepper strips and called it a tacajito. Yes, a tacajito.  Here’s why:  I used taco flavoring to season the tofu and vegetables (taco), the vegetables were fajita style (fajita), and the added rice/bean blend and wrap was reminiscent of a burrito (burrito).  I know, I’m quite creative.

I cut the tofu into strips and let it marinate in a soy sauce/taco seasoning mix for about an hour. When the time came, I misted my pan with olive oil and let my tofu steaks get all nice and golden, aren’t they gorgeous?

I then sauteed some pepper strips with onion strips until … they seemed ready?  I added some more taco seasoning to this mix as well.  On the side I had cooked up some brown rice and combined it with black beans, then added a bit of lime juice to take it up a notch.  I think what I was missing was a bit of cilantro (boo!).  I threw it all on a whole grain wrap and topped it with a spoon full of salsa:

This was probably the messiest dinner I’ve eaten in awhile.  I tried my best to capture the moment in all it’s messy glory, but decided to take it down a notch and share this one.  Anyway, it was pretty delicious.  I know it was simple and didn’t really require much thought or preparation at all, but that is the beauty of this dinner and most of my dinners this week: they have all proven to be simple and reliable. D cleared his plate and cleared the pot. I’d say he enjoyed it!

So I was just browsing over at Book Publishing Co., which publishes a large amount of books about healthy sustainable living, and I came across this book:

At first glance I thought it was a book that you give to non-vegans to help them understand veganism (which I thought was pretty funny and worthwhile), however it seems like its more of a memoir.  Regardless, had to share it!

Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday, have lots of work-related activities to do, and D and I are not going out on our Friday night dinner.  What’s looking good though, is getting a run in on Saturday.  I’m pretty excited to test out my new toy and my knee as well. Hope everyone has a great Friday – any good plans out there?

Entry filed under: dinner, mexican, tofu, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Education Rant & A Quick Dinner. Blue Day.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    looks so yummy. sorry to hear about the job/education system situation. it’s funny that those who teach kids to be smart are so affected by blatant stupidity. gah.

    Reply
  • 2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)  |  March 25, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    the tofu strips look great! and the book..i have seen that book before, never read it, but have seen it and it looks cute 🙂

    thanks for your comment earlier, too 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Keri - IEatTrees  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Your tacajito looks so delicious! I love all things taco, burrito, wrap, fajita, YUM!

    Cute book! I wonder if the memoir is about how awful it is to date a vegan? 😛

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:03 am

    HA that book looks hilarious!

    Sorry about the job situation 😦 My good friend’s brother-in-law was just laid off from his teaching job in Baltimore… things are no good!

    Reply
  • 5. Shenandoah Vegan  |  March 26, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Looks like a fun meal. No guac or sour supreme?

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:53 pm

      Haha how sad that this is how my budget turned out this week – the guac and sour cream had to be sacrificed. However, they usually are the MAIN ingredient (at least the guac).

      Reply
  • 7. theresa  |  March 27, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Aw yum, I love the concept of a tacajito. It sounds so exciting and delicious.

    Reply
  • 8. lifeaspenknowsit  |  March 27, 2010 at 5:11 am

    this looks delicious and my family would munch it all it up! i am enjoying your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


