Super Re-Charge me (cookies).

March 28, 2010 at 8:29 pm 3 comments

Today, I kind of had the attitude that I would hang low, recover, and take the day as it came.  My knees still hurt, and so I didn’t plan much activity.  I did plan (and took) a 75-minute restorative yoga class this evening.  Although my official 20-day yoga start doesn’t begin until Thursday, I attendedtonight’s class and will be attending a class Tuesday evening as well.

Prior to class beginning, I informed the instructor about my current injuries, however she assured me I should be fine and should just modify as needed. Before class started I used the leg strap and stretched my leg across my body to warm up the IT band. The focus of today’s class was on breathing and ab-work, aside from a few lunges and vinyasas toward the end. Nothing really pained my knees, although they definitely clicked all the way through class.  I was really needing some vinyasa in my life, so even though we only flowed a few times, it felt fantastic.

By the end of class I had totally forgotten I had even walked in with knee pain!  I felt re-charged. It wasn’t until I was walking from my car back to my apartment that I realized I was plagued with only a mild aching, and so I am seriously crossing my fingers that a month of yoga will help get me back on track.

Since today was a lazy day, I pretty much didn’t cook any meals and was in no mood to do so, and so I ate a mish mosh of uncreative items. However, it wasn’t much and I soon found myself gravitating toward baking.  I didn’t want to make anything too tempting, because I am almost always the one who falls victim.  I went with an obvious blogger choice, as I have seen them time and time again.  Dreena Burton’s “Super Charge Me” cookies from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan. The ingredients are all easily found in most pantries, and are absolutely wholesome: almond butter, oatmeal, raisins, maple syrup, flax meal, and coconut. No unrefined sugar, and no butter – so obviously these are not what I consider a true “baked good”.

Keeping in mind these are not indulgent dessert-like cookies, I have to say they are pretty good.  The coconut/cinnamon/raisin/oatmeal combo lends toward an oatmeal raisin cookie flavor, however the butter is obviously lacking.  In fact, D commented “these are good, but why not just make oatmeal raisin cookies?”, touche. In their own right, when viewed as a healthy alternative to a cookie (at approximately 105 calories each), they deserve credit.  I’ll be enjoying these for a few days happily, and I hope they satisfy my after lunch & dinner sweet tooth. And I’ll be honest, D and I each have had two.

I’m off to prepare for another week of work, and a kick start to yoga month.  Hope everyone has a positive and productive start to the week!

Entry filed under: cookies, eat drink be vegan, vegan. Tags: , , , , .

Blue Day. Southern comfort…food.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  March 29, 2010 at 7:45 am

    I’ve never made those cookies. I do need to get charged that’s for sure.

    Reply
  • 2. Brittany  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I’ve been DYING to try these cookies!!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:34 pm

      They are good in that healthy way, definitely don’t feel gross after eating them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


