Yoga delights.

March 30, 2010 at 10:49 pm 9 comments

I haven’t stopped for a minute today.  Okay, I stopped for an hour to watch Lost. I went from work, to private clients, to yoga, to shower, to dinner, to Lost, to make lunch for tomorrow, to edit D’s law school essay, to now. 11:22 p.m. I’m ready for bed so this will be short and sweet. First – thanks for the suggestions for family holiday food!  I think I probably will go with a lasagna (grandma gave me the approval haha).

Why is it that whenever I am trying to make a yoga class, I’m either entirely too early, or on the verge of being late?  Of course the possibility of being late conjures feelings of anxiety and nervousness – just the right type of energy to put out there before yoga, no?  No. Regardless, I was probably pressing the pedal a bit hard, on a rainy day, to make it to yoga in time.  A friend from work was going to meet me, and I was so excited that we’d be yoga-ing together and iIdidn’t want to walk in late. Plus this is an overflowing class. Of course, the world didn’t end and I made it on time. And I had a great time, and have two things to share with you, which if you’d like to not be enlightened by then just scroll to the food pictures!

Tonight’s yoga class was so packed tonight that the room was wall to wall yoga mats and bodies, with literally an inch at best between mats. This makes me nervous usually, however tonight’s experience was enlightening. While we sweat and flowed to pop tunes, the girl to my left, who I’ve never met before, on two occasions encouraged me to push myself.  The first time was when attempting tripod headstand.  We were just way too close to those around us for me to feel comfortable, however with her head an inch away from mine she encouraged me, “You’re so close, just do it.  You have GOT to just try it!”. I couldn’t help but smile and consider it.  The next time was during wheel.  We were encouraged to do five full wheels consecutively. I enjoy wheel but do not enjoy my wrists aching and feeling like they are going to give out.  During wheel #2 I started to lower myself at the 3rd breath and she again was there to urge me on, “Don’t give up, you’re doing great keep it up there.” And so I did.  But there is nothing like having your own cheering squad next to you.  During plow I had to return the favor.  (Disclaimer: I am the type who usually does my own thing at yoga, focusing on my mat and practice alone, and not steering my glances to those around me.  However after this girl has so kindly reached out to me, I had to step out of my confines.) She was struggling to pull her legs up, and had after a few tries thrown her legs down.  And so I turned to her and said, “You can do it! Try again you’re almost there!”. I just wish I’d said “Thank you!”.  I also wish I got her name but by the end of class I was so wiped I had forgotten the good she had done me tonight, so I’m sending out that energy here.

Other yoga mentionables tonight include attempting handstands with a very nice gentleman who was twice my height/weight, and having the teacher pull me up by my legs in bow and drop me due to my sweaty legs slipping out from her hands.  We’ll see how that feels tomorrow, but she picked me right back up and swung me from side to side. She’s a strong strong woman.

So needless to say, after yoga I was whipped and quite hungry, as it was after 8:00.  I forgot about my dinner plan and told D to throw on some pasta, it was going to be the easy night tonight. I threw some whole wheat rotini and marinara over a bed of spinach, and topped it with four meatless meatballs and some Vegan parma.  Yum!


I then enjoyed some delicious Trader Joe’s kettle corn during Lost, which I’m only sharing because they are awesome. They single handedly were able to satisfy my sweet and salty craving for 110 calories.

I’m excited to share my lunch tomorrow that I spent my last few minutes of free time tonight preparing.

How do you manage with having no “free time” at home some days? I know I should consider yoga my “free time/me time”, but when I come home and don’t stop for more than an hour I feel a little wacky.  Here’s to a wacky yoga filled month!


Entry filed under: pasta, vegan, yoga. Tags: , , , .

Southern comfort…food. Pierogis & Broccoli, and Daiya day (to come).

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hangry Pants  |  March 31, 2010 at 6:23 am

    Isn’t she so small, but like the strongest person in the world! I love that Tuesday night class. 🙂 She teaches on Sundays now too (except when there are Soul Salutations like this Sunday). I am so excited to start the 20 in 30!

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I just got back from yoga class and reading this really got me interested in trying some new poses on my own. I am pretty strong and a dedicated/focused individual when it comes to yoga. The classes I take are through the Les Mills program, so they are called BodyFlow ( a mix of Tai Chi, yoga, and pilates). Although they are challenging at times, I am always doing the most challenging option they offer. I want to broaden my yoga experience by doing more challenging poses, like crane, handstands, headstands, the eagle, etc. I also want to be a yoga instructor someday soon – so hopefully I can get into training eventually. 🙂

    I have days like yours all of the time. Being a senior in high school and living with my dad 30 minutes away from my school makes for long travels. Get up at 6, go to school, get there around 7:50, get out at 3, sometimes I have work at 3:30, get out of work at 5:30 (library job that sucks!), go home, get home at 6:00, go to fitness class at 6:30 (sometimes I have dance classes from 6:30-9), then get home at 7:30, get shower, dinner, and do homework. Try to get in bed by a decent time. Gahhhh! I can’t wait until the fall when I will be at college and I won’t be in a classroom/school for 7 hours straight! I am also looking forward to the opportunity of being able to go to yoga or just exercising in the mornings. Fortunately, I am on spring break this week and have been taking advantage of the morning classes at my gym!

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  March 31, 2010 at 11:36 am

      I can’t imagine trying to add a yoga practice in high school, but I certainly wish I had, and commend you! College is fantastic and a great way to make life a bit more about you ! 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Jessi  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I usually work 2 jobs as well as try to work out and spend time with my social friends. So me time is hard to come by. i just try to get as much done on free days as i can.
    example: should i spread out the laundry all week and feel frazzled to get it done and get to bed or should i devote a full sunday to it and consider it a slack day and curl up on the couch alone or with friends and have a movie marathon. that is how i keep my sanity and get things done.

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  March 31, 2010 at 7:14 pm

      I’m sorta like you Jessi, my clothes are strewn about until Saturday or Sunday, when I have the time to “do it right”. I never really got the concept of “an extra minute will save you an hour later”. 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Shenandoah Vegan  |  March 31, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Let D edit his own darn essay!

    Reply
    • 7. Amanda  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:35 pm

      hahah that wouldn’t be very nice! especially after I rushed home to make dinner sweaty… maybe you’re on to something..

      Reply
  • 8. Keri - IEatTrees  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I so want to get into yoga, but I live in a town where exercise means going to get your mail without driving down the driveway. I do most of my workouts by myself in my living room (I have an elliptical and some other equipment) or with a close friend. I’d have no idea what I was doing so I guess my only option would be by dvd, but I feel like I’d be missing out on something doing it that way? Anway, hope your day was great (even though it was busy!). 🙂

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  April 1, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      No I know what you mean, I’ve tried to do yoga at home and although I feel good about it, it’s just not the same for me. I know plenty of people practice at home and maybe one day I’ll get there, but right now I love being in class with everyone, and sweating my butt off! Maybe it’s worth a once a week treating yourself and traveling to a studio, say on the weekends!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


