Pierogis & Broccoli, and Daiya day (to come).

March 31, 2010 at 8:45 pm 8 comments

Tonight was one of those night’s I had anticipated in advance being a “late night”, with two clients after work.  However, like clockwork the second client canceled and I found myself with an hour to kill.  Naturally, I went to Target because D had to work late.  This was no problem for me, as I had already planned tonight’s quick-fix dinner!

This is one of those meal’s I’ve mentioned before, and it is so cheap and easy that I cannot help but keep it in my cache of “easy dinners”. From Robin Robinson’s Quick-Fix Vegetarian, “Potato & Onion Pierogis with Broccoli & Walnuts”. The ingredients couldn’t be simpler (pierogis, broccoli, walnuts, onion, olive oil).  I like to use frozen chopped broccoli & chopped walnuts in this recipe, they crisp up real nice and absorb the flavors of the onion.

While it may not appear to be quite healthy, when you factor in the walnuts & broccoli, I consider it a fair trade for time.  The only thing I’m really lacking here is some serious protein. One-third of the whole dinner (about 4 pierogis), is about 375 calories.  I imagine you throw in a protein and take away a pierogi and you’d be set.  Besides, D totally loves this and pretty much eats the remaining 2/3 – which always makes me feel like a successful mom girlfriend.

Fitness-wise, due to the late night dinner I’m skipping tonight’s workout, but planning a double tomorrow: elliptical session & hot yoga (the first of my 20-classes in 30-days challenge).  I’m pretty sore from last night’s yoga, but can’t wait to hit the mat again and make my muscles scream some more. I only wish I had a washer/drier in my apartment to allow me to keep my yoga clothes and towels washed every few days rather than every week.

I spent some time today thinking about what my goals will be from this challenge.  Aside from the obvious (tighter arms/abs), I’m hoping to really improve my strength and push through some difficult poses.  I know some classes will be more challenging than others, but I hope when my 20 classes are up I notice some progress or at the very least, leave my comfort zone and try more challenging poses. Balance poses are really tough for me, no doubt that is connected to my knee issues, so any progress in that area will be very welcome. I also hope a nearly daily practice will allow me to bring the yogi energy with me daily during real-life scenarios.

On to more exciting life news, tomorrow or Friday I will be using my free time the best way I know how.  Hunting down vegan food products.  Not just any product, but the Daiya vegan cheeze, which as of TODAY is currently on sale at Whole Foods nationwide!!  I can’t wait to stock up and start playing, and I think if I can get my hands on a few bags by Saturday some vegan cheeze will definitely make an appearance at my family’s dinner Sunday.  I’ve had the pleasure of eating Daiya products at restaurants on two (grilled cheeze) occasions (pizza), and fell in love.  Go try it if you haven’t!

Any vegan products you’ve found that you can’t get enough of? I do love Gardein’s seven grain tenders, and my Sunday morning breakfast wouldn’t be complete without Tofutti French Onion cream cheeze.


Entry filed under: dinner, quick fix vegetarian, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Yoga delights. Sniffles that only corn chowder can cure.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hangry Pants  |  March 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    I’m not stalking you, but I was at Target today too!

    And I love the Gardein tenders. I’ve only found them at Whole Foods in West Orange though.

    Reply
  • 2. Keri - IEatTrees  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    My vegan product addictions would probably be Trader Joe’s baked tofus, Field Roast’s vegan sausages… okay, okay and Daiya cheddar shreds. 😀

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  April 1, 2010 at 7:14 pm

      Oh yes those field roast sausages have changed my life!

      Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  March 31, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    I love Dr. Praeger’s burgers, TJ’s Soy Nuggets, Tofutti Cream Cheese, and more…much more! 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  April 1, 2010 at 7:14 pm

      Okay I have yet to try Dr. Praegers, maybe it’s about time I switch up my go-to burger!

      Reply
  • 6. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 1, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Woah! Major news flash on the Daiya! I will be at WF today to stock up!

    Reply
  • 7. Vegan Thyme (Kelly)  |  April 1, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Hi Amanda! You are such an inspiration–your workout stories ring so true with me, as well. Okay–so I have this cookbook–so I must check this recipe out! I have yet to find Daiya cheese at my WF–why? I must ask more questions on my next visit!

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  April 1, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      Your so kind! I appreciate your advice as well, it always helps when someones gone through what you have and made it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Edub


