Sniffles that only corn chowder can cure.

April 1, 2010 at 2:25 pm 9 comments

I woke up this morning feeling a little off.  My head felt heavy, my nose was both stuffed and running, and my throat felt a tad raw.  Fantastic. Spring break starts tomorrow.  During last year’s spring break D and I planned a trip to Disney World.  I also happened to have the worst flu ever for the first time in years and I cried the whole plane ride over and spent the first day at the Magic Kingdom with a fever. I’m crossing my fingers that this spring break curse hasn’t returned!

So upon noticing said symptoms, I decided to switch up my morning green smoothie for a juicy smoothie – it was just what I was craving. I combined 4oz orange juice, 5 strawberries, half a banana, and half a scoop of vanilla soy protein powder.  This was so beyond delicious and tropical, I felt like I was doing something very very bad.  I also took vitamin-C and echinacea supplements, and hydrated with nonstop water all day – and consequently peed more than a pregnant woman.

I then enjoyed some of this baby I cooked up Tuesday night.  I have been craving a corn chowder and it is hard enough to find a vegetarian one around here, let alone vegan.  I had potatoes and frozen corn on hand and so I started browsing recipes online for ideas.  I found one at VeggieMealMaker.com and tweaked it a tad before coming up with this:

This corn chowder really hit the spot.  It’s missing something that I can’t put my finger on (in the spice department), but really was delicious as it is and I’ve been enjoying it for lunch for the past two days.  I’m sharing the recipe below with the tweaks I added and with the caloric break down (because hey, you gotta know).  If you’re looking for one last transition soup of the season, give this a try.  And let me know if you can find whatever spice it’s missing so I can write that down!

Potato-Corn Chowder (makes 6 1-1/2 cup servings).

  • 4 potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 cups corn, frozen, canned or fresh
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 6 4 cups water
  • 2 cups soy milk
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast flakes
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1⁄2 tsp. basil
  • 1⁄2 tsp. parsley
  • 2 tsp. salt
In a large pot simmer veggies (potatoes, onions garlic and corn) in 4 cups of water until potatoes are tender. Meanwhile, blend cashews, 2 cups soy milk, nutritional yeast and cornstarch for 2-3 min on high until very smooth. Add blended ingredients to pot and simmer for 3-5 min. Add seasonings and blend about half of the soup (I used an immersion blender) to keep the consistency smooth with some chunks.  Enjoy!

Nutritional Information (for one 1.5cup serving): 305 calories, 11.5 g fat, 43g carbs, 7.5g dietary fiber, 12.5g protein.

After lunch (we got out early for spring break), I headed over to the nearest large Whole Foods to see if Daiya was in. Of course I am searching around like a crazy woman, and finally ask for help to find that they haven’t received their stock yet.  Boo! How disappointing!  According to Daiya they shipped out their first shipments on Friday so we should be keeping our eyes peeled all this week!  Anyhow, can’t walk into Whole Foods without leaving with a few goods. I stocked up on two bags of Gardein seven-grain tenders,  bulk quinoa and cashews, and vegan mozzarella. I also had to stop at the hot food bar and took home 3 vegan chinese dumplings, 2 sesame tofu steaks, and a small portion of vegan pad thai. I couldn’t help but steal a few bites and all were so delish.

I also grabbed some Zico coconut water to try out after my yoga classes.  Our yoga studio owners sent out an e-mail today encouraging us to hydrate and replenish our bodies during the challenge.  They mentioned using a vitamin-c supplement and coconut water.  So, I took the hint and grabbed a few Zico to try this week and see how I like it.  I’m usually just a SmartWater addict and I know that’s a bad habit I need to break. Below you will find my yoga-hydration kit.

Yoga. I guess that leads me to where I am now. I hit up yoga this afternoon for my first 20-in-30 class.  I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to give it my 100% (every time I bent over all the fluids in my head went rushing down and I felt slightly unbalanced), but I wanted to start the challenge out strong and sweat out some of my yucky toxins. Of course today is the first day in months that I don’t bring my yogitoes  towel (grips to the mat and stays in place) and I ended up drenching my mat to the point that I was slipping in downward dog. That got me to thinking that one yogitoe towel will not possibly be sufficient this month, and I considered buying another. I mentioned it to my friend after class and she said she happened to have one in her trunk that she will give me because she absolutely hates it. Score!! This made my day and saved me $55 dollars!  Only sad part is that now I have two yogitoe towels in colors I don’t even slightly enjoy (orange and yellow, buh!). I guess my pretty towel time is yet to come.

Sorry for the tangent.  All in all, today’s class was just a big sweat out.  My head was heavy and my arms were weak, and I just flowed the best I could.  I left drench and uplifted to a sunny 70-degree day. How did I celebrate?  My friend and I went across the street to the Mexican restaurant and hit up happy hour. I know, who does that?  It may not have been the best decision, but I don’t regret it and enjoyed every sip of my margarita (for $3!). Now it’s starting to feel like spring.

Sunny days just bring my mood so high.  I hope that if I hydrate enough and pump enough vitamin-c in my body, I’ll wake up tomorrow feeling refreshed and renewed.  I hope everyone’s end of the week is going well and that the sun is peeking out from behind that big old cloud.

Entry filed under: recipes, smoothie, soup, vegan, yoga. Tags: , , , , , .

Pierogis & Broccoli, and Daiya day (to come). How to impress your family on Easter.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hangry Pants  |  April 1, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Blows about being sick. 😦 When I did my yoga month (30 days in a row) I started out sick, but the heat actually helped my congestion. Jealous of your free yogi toes! I sometimes wash mine, but bring it slightly wet. It works cause I find it grips better.

    Reply
  • 2. Tanya  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    This year we went to Disney and my husband got really sick on our second day, so we drove home (10 hrs) instead of continuing down to Miami like we planned…..sorry you were sick. But this recipe looks delicious 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 1, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Yum, that chowder looks delicious- I love corn soups and chowders!
    I hope you do wake up tomorrow feeling refreshed! Sending feel better vibes! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  April 2, 2010 at 12:16 am

    Being sick is never fun, but I am glad to hear that you still enjoyed your yoga. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. theresa  |  April 2, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Feel better soon! The corn chowder looks so delicious. I love a bit of miso stirred into my chowders, but I’m not sure if that’s the flavour you’re missing…

    Reply
  • 6. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 2, 2010 at 7:02 am

    No Daiya at the Whole Foods in Virginia. I’ll try again next week. Feel better!

    Reply
  • 7. Michal  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Feel better soon, being sick is no fun!

    Reply
  • 8. Jessi  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Have you tried the coconut water yet. i couldn’t get mine down. it was a different brand, but not my cup of tea of the taste scale. 2 sips and i had to get rid of it.

    Reply
    • 9. Amanda  |  April 2, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      I gotta say, so far not so good! I tried it last night after I showered – wasn’t a fan. Am hoping that when I am drenched in sweat maybe I’ll just me so thirsty I won’t notice?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


