Banana uplifting pancakes.

April 6, 2010 at 9:40 am 11 comments

I’ve been out of it the past two days.  Knowing that my cat was sick and I’d have to put him down was weighing on me hard, and still is.  Easter was a blur, and yesterday I couldn’t do much more than lay on my couch, cry, and occasionally eat terrible foods. I don’t think a healthy food has passed my lips in two days, and I’m fine with filling my emotional void with food on extreme circumstances.

This morning I was craving something special. I skipped yoga as I didn’t sleep much or very well, and scoured the kitchen.  Being sad also meant I haven’t gone foodshopping, and have limited food at my fingertips.  What did I have? Plenty of super ripe bananas.  I pulled out Vegan Brunch, halved the recipe, and enjoyed three light fluffy banana pancakes. The recipe was so simple and my pancakes turned out just right, for once.

Now I’m going to crawl back onto my couch, and just let myself be sad for the loss of my beloved cat, Sebastian.  Yesterday was the hardest day I can remember in a very, very long time.  He was such a sweet, affectionate, loving animal. It broke my heart to have to let him go so unexpectedly.

Entry filed under: breakfast, vegan, vegan brunch. Tags: , , , , , .

How to impress your family on Easter. Flowing through the week.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 6, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Sending love. ❤

    Reply
  • 2. Jessi  |  April 6, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Sorry for your loss. Hang in there.

    Reply
  • 3. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 6, 2010 at 11:47 am

    I’m so sorry. Poor Sebastian!

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  April 6, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Oh, no. I’m so sorry to hear about Sebastian. How heartbreaking!

    Reply
  • 5. Katie  |  April 6, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss. Hang in there…over time it will get better.

    Your pancakes look fantastic. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Hangry Pants  |  April 7, 2010 at 6:24 am

    I am sorry about your kitty? Were you at yoga last night at 6:15? The message was probably really helpful for you because of this.

    Reply
  • 7. JennShaggy  |  April 7, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Haha thank you so much! Man, these pancakes look amazing!

    Reply
  • 8. Michal  |  April 8, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Oh no im so sorry to hear that. 😦 *hugs*

    Reply
  • 9. amandatrombley  |  April 9, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I’m so sorry about your kitty. =(

    Your banana pancakes look amazing! Funny, I have the same banana dilemma on my counter right now (so many overripe ones) so banana pancakes may just be in store this weekend!

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  April 9, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      Def. make them for the weekend!! Maybe even some banana muffins, mmm!

      Reply
  • 11. Neti Love. « Amanda's Domestic Adventures  |  April 22, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    […] the old favorite: pancakes. Once again we have some differing palates: I was in the mood for some banana pancakes ala Isla, while D prefers a more traditional fluffy pancake.  This of course was no problem for me, because I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


