Flowing through the week.

April 9, 2010 at 1:43 pm 6 comments

First I want to thank you guys for your sweet comments about Sebastian, each day I’ve gotten a little less sad. Nonetheless, Monday’s events coupled with spring break has meant that my meals have been sporadic and that I have not cooked dinner once.

Last night I finally had a craving for something specific, and Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan‘s “Goddess Garbanzos” was suddenly the lunch I desired. I haven’t made this in close to a year, and think that after today’s delicious lunch it may return as a staple for the next few weeks.  It’s so satisfying and delicious, I bet most non-veggies would love it as well.  I don’t add the kelp granules, as I have never been a fishy fan, however the consistency of this is so spot-on, and the fresh lemon takes it over the top. Delish.

I enjoyed the sandwich on an everything bagel thin, with two slices of tomato drizzled with balsamic vinegar.  On the side are some baked kettle chips and some grilled vegetables I picked up from my best friend, Whole Foods.

Yoga this week has been fantastic. I love that 20-in-30 challenge falls during my spring break, allowing me to attend classes I typically cannot make. While Tuesday night’s class allowed me to focus on death and letting go while pushing through a challenging class, Wednesday morning’s class was a much calmer flow. While it was still hot, and quite powerful, the teacher was soothing and focused on the breath and flow more than the go,go,go. I loved how I felt after each class, and on a side note, after I left Tuesday night’s class I headed to WF and was asked by the cashier if I had just been swimming.  Yes, I was that drenched in my own sweat.

Thursday morning’s class was completely different than any power flow class at the studio.  The teacher had us along the walls, where she focused her class on pranayama and alignment.  We started off with a flow, then broke down head stand the best way I’ve yet to experience. While I didn’t quite get it, I got the steps more than usual and have a bit more of an understanding of how to get there. The entire energy of the class was light and focused and not quite as… exasperated as usual.  Today’s class was an alignment class with no flow – and we spent time twisting and leading up to shoulder stand. For a non-flow class, it absolutely suited my mood and helped me understand my alignment better.

So overall, I’ve completed 6/20 classes and am not too sore yet so power on! One of my best friends who I recently turned on to yoga is joining me tomorrow morning and I’m excited to see how she likes hot yoga (it’ll be her first time). I’m so grateful this week I was off of work because my mood has been so eh and I’ve had time to just let myself be that way. Now I have to clean the apartment and do laundry, fun Friday!

Any Friday rituals you keep? In college, we’d go out for drinks on Fridays.  Now, D and I tend to clean and order in – we accept that we are now old people and are tired at the end of the week.

Entry filed under: eat drink be vegan, lunch, vegan, yoga. Tags: , , , , .

Banana uplifting pancakes. Carrots meet cream cheese, in a vegan cupcake.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 9, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    That sandwich looks fantastic. I bought some of the Bagel Thins. They were okay. Definitely thin.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  April 9, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      Agree, but they did the job – and will do the job until the bag is gone. I’m a carb-a-holic can’t complain. Update: another trip to WF and no seitan panini, I’m beginning to think someone has vetoed them in NJ.

      Reply
  • 3. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 9, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    That bagel sandwich looks delicious!

    I do have a Friday ritual! I make dinner insanely early and then pack up and go to the city to grocery shop, maybe stopping off at Target or the book store. When I get home I usually organize the groceries and then watch a movie or two while relaxing.

    But yeah, in college Friday meant something completely different. Haha. I actually think I prefer my grown up routine!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  April 9, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      Grocery shopping, targeting, and book storing (pref. borders) are always a part of our w/end rituals as well! I do like my grown up routine, however I’m sure if mine included an adorable toddler it’d be that much more fun!

      Reply
  • 5. Jessi  |  April 9, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    That sandwich looks yum! i haven’t seen everything Thins yet in my store. I am sad my WF also doesn’t have Daiya yet….darn Richmond! we are so behind the times.

    Glad you are doing better day by day. Keep up the great yoga work!

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  April 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      I have used the excuse that I am looking for Daiya as a reason to go to Whole Foods at least every other day – still no dice here! Will let you know when I find some! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


