Carrots meet cream cheese, in a vegan cupcake.

April 10, 2010 at 12:49 pm 6 comments

So in the aftermath of not cooking this week, my baking mitts were getting a bit antsy.  A bag of shredded carrots and a tub of tofutti spread were burning a hole in my apron and I was compelled to throw something together.  A quick flip through a few vegan cookbooks brought me to The Joy of Vegan Baking‘s “Carrot Cake” recipe. I felt like I had a 50/50 shot at a good cake since I absolutely love the moist chocolate cake recipe, however found the vanilla cake rather dense.

I stuck to the recipe and let the cupcakes cook for about 25-minutes until the toothpick came out clean, yielding 18-cupcakes.  These cupcakes have a hard time keeping their shape (probably due to the moistness/oil) so they need to sit for a few minutes in the pan before being transferred to cool. Personally, I tend to enjoy a whipped cream cheese frosting – however I stuck with the “cream cheese” frosting in the book, which only called for powdered sugar and vanilla.  I thought it needed a little something and added a teaspoon of cinnamon.

As you can see the frosting was more like a gooey glaze, and not meant for piping.  I squirted some on and let it fall into place, topping with a shake of orange sugar.

Mmm.  The cake is surprisingly quite moist, with pieces of carrot, raisin, and walnuts in every bite.  I will 100% return to this recipe – D approves! Now what am I going to do with over a dozen cupcakes!?  Baking is the easy part, pushing off my goods can sometimes be hard.

Today I attended yoga with one of my best friends from high school who just started practicing yoga at a traditional studio, and she had a blast.  We both left dripping wet with our spirits high – in fact, she said she actually felt that “yoga high” for the first time.  Yea, hot yoga! She’s going to come with me again tomorrow while she’s in town too.  It’s so nice to go with a friend. I know yoga is an individual practice – much like any fitness activity – however I like being able to leave and share my experience with a familiar face.

I want so badly to run, but I think I may try to hit the elliptical today since I feel like I’m getting a bit soft. I’m considering attempting the Galloway method to build up back to running, anyone have any experience with this? Happy weekend!

Entry filed under: baking, cupcakes, joy of vegan baking, vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Flowing through the week. I Daiya-d today!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shenandoah Vegan  |  April 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Gosh those cupcakes look so decadent! Warm & gooey! Unfortunately, I don’t do yoga, so I can’t ‘afford’ to make a batch of cupcakes.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  April 11, 2010 at 4:20 pm

      Haha your comments always make me laugh! I can’t afford to either but I just can’t help myself.

      Reply
  • 3. Keri - IEatTrees  |  April 11, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Those look really yummy; I still haven’t made one from my Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and I’ve had it like 2 weeks! I must get on that! As for The Joy of Vegan Baking, I haven’t made much from it but we enjoyed the German Apple Cake!

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  April 11, 2010 at 4:20 pm

      Oh my favorite so far from VCTOTW is the cookies & cream! Sooooooo delish! I mean, how can anything with Oreos not be?

      Reply
  • 5. Michal  |  April 14, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Wow, those cupcakes look so rich and moist and PERFECT! Carrot cake is one of my all time favorite things, however I never even thought about paring it with cream cheese. Genius! I have a package of tofutti in my fridge right now 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  April 14, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      People at work gobbled them up – had no clue they were vegan! I mean the cc isn’t quite as “tart” as regular cc frosting, but not bad at all!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Foodbuzz



Quantcast

I enjoy cooking, baking, cats and yoga. This is my platform to sound off and share what I like.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow me on Twitter

Edub


